We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Dunoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Dunoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Argyll. Everyone was warm, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The room was small, spotlessly clean and well appointed. Breakfast, the only meal we took in the hotel was excellent. Freshly cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble for the
waiting staff on both mornings.

A pleasant stay in a well run Scottish hote, we shall be back!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms face the front, the rear of the hotel backs onto quite a busy road which can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    151
    53
    21
    26
See reviews for
78
281
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from weekend break, this was our second visit to this hotel and it just gets better. We purchased a Glasgow Great Deal offering 2 nights bed & breakfast with afternoon tea on arrival and dinner with wine on 2nd evening. We upgraded to a clan room and were not disappointed. The room was stunning with a 4 poster bed and beautiful sea view. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable.

The food was of a very high standard at both breakfast and dinner. The service was excellent. The staff are very attentive and work very hard. The manager often walked around asking guests if everything was ok with their stay, even taking time to have a chat.

Had a fantastic break and can't wait to return, already looking to book our next break very soon. Thanks to all the staff at this hotel and keep up the good work.

Mr & Mrs Greenshields

Room Tip: Upgrade to the clan room, definately worth the extra money for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently spent a weekend break at "The Argyll Hotel" Feb 2013 Great service provided
friendly helpful staff the team at the hotel were very pleasant and welcoming though not overbearing,our rooms clean warm and modern with great views.
Food was excellent (Yum!!)
Thank you to all the hotel team a great time was had by all our party : ) Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

What an amazing hotel. Myself and my fiance had a romantic 2 night break here, after having had a devastating few months, It was exactly the break we needed. The staff were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to ensure the stay was the best it could be. The room was comfortable, the tv only had 4 channels but due to how fantastic everything else was it did not bother us at all. We were welcomed with afternoon tea which was fantastic, we were so stuffed we didnt need to go out and get dinner that night. Anytime we needed anything staff were more than happy to go out of their way. Comfiest bed ive ever slept in too. on our 2nd night we dined in the Rio restaurant and it was without a doubt the tastiest meal we have ever had the pleasure of eating. If you get the chance for the carrot and coriander soup GET IT!!! The meal was perfect and staff all fantastic. Breakfast was lovely every morning too. We enjoyed it so much that although its a good 2 and a half hours away from us we are greatly considering having our wedding here. When we enquired about weddings the manager Dev, was extremely helpful and enthusiastic making it even more appealing. Cant wait for a chance to come back. Will be recommending this hotel to anyone and everyone. Not one thing to fault. Would LOVE LOVE LOVE to go back and would make THE perfect wedding venue. Cannot praise it enough. Thank you very much for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for the sea view 4 poster bed rooms but we had a nosey and it didnt make much d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great location as you come from the ferry. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The tv reception was poor with only 3 channels showing. Overall the hotel is very dated. The service ranged from being very good to overbearing to non-existent. The breakfast, which comes free with the room was terrible. I sat for 10 mins before anyone noticed I was there (I was the only person there). The woman serving was unfriendly. The breakfast arrived within 2 mins of ordering. The ingredients were poor and I gave up trying to eat the food.

I'm sure the staff do a great job but considering all the hotels Ive stayed in, I wasn't impressed and unfortunately won't be staying again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I am so sorry to read of your experience; however I have to thank you for highlighting the areas in which we have disappointed you. experienced issues . We take on board all of the points you have raised and would like to reassure you that we will use the feedback to strengthen the service we can provide to our guest. I do hope that you will return again and allow us the opportunity to show you that this is not the standard experience our guests have, as I am sure you can see we have a very high number of positive reviews.

kind Regards
surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

When we arrived we were given a room with a shower. We asked to change room to one with a bath, and no problem straight away, and very politely, we were given another room. The bed was really comfortable, and the room was nice and a good size. We ate next door and had a lovely tapas meal. On that note can I say a big thank you to the waiter Norman in particular, as his service was fantastic. I love the relaxed atmosphere and the friendly ambience of the hotel. My husband and I will definitely be returning Excellent value for money and lovely staff from the management to the receptionist to the waitresses and waiters. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a week in jan 2013 as was working in dunoon! Staff were all exellent and very pleasant! Room was clean modern and comfortable! Also got lovely packed lunches as started work too early for bfast! Would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Surya Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon

Address: Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Family Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.