We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we loved the location of this hotel right on the promenade and a stones throw from the town.

we paid for a room with a view. well worth it to watch all the traffic on the Clyde. The room was recently refurbished very nicely.

the hotel is geared towards coach parties which was something of a downside. We didn't dine in the hotel despite planing to do so on at least one evening but breakfast was "hit and miss" - one day excellent one day poor and the third day mediocre.

would we stay again? not at this hotel - we will look for somewhere else to stay next time - just hope we can get as good a view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel.

Regret to know that breakfast doesnt meet your expectations.this experience in the eplsnade hotel is isolated.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Esplanade Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    86
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
171
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived on a grey evening after a long journey and were greeted by a friendly gentleman who got us booked in and taken to our room.  The extra help with our suitcases was much appreciated.  As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is slightly maze like, but that can add to the fun of it! We had beautiful sea view rooms, which were  the ground floor and also looked out over the gardens, which are very nicely kept.  We couldn’t enjoy them properly as the weather wasn’t very kind to us.  We didn’t partake in the evening meal as we had made arrangements with friends who live locally.  But, the breakfast was very good and filled us up for the day! I did partake in a few drams from the Whisky Cellar! Bar staff were very knowledgeable and choose a good couple of whiskies for me.  A very short stay, but would of liked to have stayed longer if we weren’t moving on to our next destination.  Tip, ask for a sea view! You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had to be moved here from our Hotel due to a broken lift! Pity we were not at this hotel from the start very friendly and helpful staff. 5 course dinner and food good, always well presented and hot. Our room was a bit cramped but considering we had been moved from the other hotel at the last minute we were grateful for anything. Only a few stairs to dining room but my wife was able to manage these as was another disabled guest, but staff on hand to help if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a wonderful 5 day stay here, with my elderly father. Our rooms were on the ground floor, Dads was facing the sea and had a beautiful viewing area at the end of his room with a coffee table and chairs to sit and watch from. My room was nearby and very comfortable with a small garden view at the back of the hotel. Staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble, extra pillows were brought to the room straight away. Food very good 5 courses. Our waiter was very quick, and polite (Kamil) well done! Nice walk along the front each morning into town for the papers, even though the hotel had them, I preferred the fresh air walk before breakfast. Very pretty gardens at the front to sit out in during the summer.Thank you to Menoj and staff for a very good and well worth it break. Will come again.

Room Tip: Nice single rooms on ground floor at the front overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Recently spent two nights on a DBB deal at the Esplanade hotel. Hotel a little tired but spotlessly clean. Food basic but well cooked and tasty. Every member of staff very pleasant and helpful. Great value for money. Well done to everyone at the Esplanade hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A first class hotel in every way Excellent service Good quality food and first class entertainment Well positioned for easy reach to town centre Lovely views across the Firth of Clyde if you are fortunate to have a room with a sea view Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you in every way possible

Room Tip: Would not hesitate in booking this hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcaldy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent Sunday to Wednesday at the above hotel, next year I will go back and spend Monday to Friday there ,as it is one of the best hotels I have visited, rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished, five course meal every night which was lovely presentated and very tasty. Staff were excellent, nothing was to much for them. Management at the hotel must take credit for the hotel and the staff as they are the ones who set the standard, they employ and they train and they are all a credit to them.

Room Tip: They could ask for a sea view, we had a room overlooking the car park and we had no problem with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Family Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.