We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great views and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

having stayed here some 20mths ago it was a pleasure to return and find the hotel just as welcoming on our second visit. The hotel and rooms are lovely and warm and the staff and service very polite and helpful. Rooms are clean and maid service very good. The dining room is spacious and well layed out and service excellent. The food is superb, well presented and generous portions.The tables are well dressed and and staff are very efficient throughout dinning. the hotel is situated on the bay with gardens overlooking it. it has a lift and bar with two lounges. the staff are always there to help and nothing is too much trouble, you only have to ask if you need attention. this hotel and staff are excellent. we have stayed during easter on our first occassion and christmas on our second. the hotel make everything very special and work so hard 24/7 to make your stay wonderful. Would definately recommend you stay and thank you so much esplanade staff of all departments for making our stay once again wonderful.

Room Tip: rooms away from the first floor lounge are quieter sea view rooms superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    125
    44
    11
    12
See reviews for
69
219
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Booked 4 nights turkey and tinsel break at esplanade I must say this is one of best holiday I had through out the year,nothing too much trouble for the staff,food was excellent,could not manage to eat 5 course meal everyday.Christmas carols which is organised with mince pies and sherry was good fun.looking forward to go back in summer.I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of a short break at this wonderful hotel during early November (5-9th) the manager and his team were excellent in every department, nothing was to much trouble at any time, they all worked their socks off from dawn till dusk and then some. These are Five Star people and really make your stay a good one, the food was really well above the norm the chef worked wonders. All in all very good value, the manager and his team deserve all the plaudits they get, Well Done Esplanade

Room Tip: The views from the front are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just come back from a 'Turkey and Tinsel' coach holiday at The Esplanade Hotel. We had the same 'T and T' break last year and my review that time said it all. This time, the break was in December which made it feel a bit more more christmassy (last year it was in November) which made our stay even more enjoyable.
The food was again brilliant - a good choice and well-cooked, always hot and served quickly. The staff couldn't do enough for the guests and nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast (we had porridge, traditional fry and toast plus jam/marmalade) from 8 untll 09.30 meant that there was no mad scamble first thing in the morning making it more relaxed. Equally,the evening 5 course dinner was served from 19.00 until 20.30 so again no real rush and the food was cooked to perfection with a great choice for everyone. This took us nicely up the the entertainment from 20.30 until 22.30 and on the whole was of a high standard like last year.
The room was cosy and up to a good standard with everything you could need and a great view across the Clyde to Gourock. The double bed was clean and comfortable although I needed an extra pillow (1 is never enough) which was supplied quickly. We discovered that the lcd flat screen tv had a built-in dvd player which is always a welcome plus point should the weather turn nasty. The tea/coffee tray was well stocked each day.The bathroom was of a good size with bath and over-bath shower with plenty of hot water and toiletries. A large walk in wardrobe was ample for our clothes and suitcase and could have taken more for a larger family.
Both the management and staff are friendly and receptive to the needs of the guests and you were made to feel comfortable and relaxed from the moment you arrived to the friendly send-off when you left.
We shall definitely be staying with The Esplanade again - maybe next time in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we had a great time at the esplanade and the rooms, the food and the staff were all fantastic. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes a super break away.rhe entertainment on the 2 nights we were there were great, the highland dancers etc and the D.J.the next night, fabulous. this is 1 of the best hotels we have been at and we will be back

Room Tip: we cannot say which rooms are the best. our room facing on to the carpark was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just had a lovely weekend at this wonderful hotel, the management, staff and entertainment were excellent, nothing was a bother to them and the choice and standard of food excellent,
A big thanks to all of you for a really great time
Marlynn Lowe and her friends from Age concern.

Room Tip: you cant go wrong with this hotel near Ferry terminal, town and beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenock
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on the 16th and 17th November with a party of 12 friends (6 couples). From the minute we arrived the service was excellent. The room was great, would definately recommend Room No 23. We had great view. Food was very good, 5 courses and the waiting staff all had a smile on their face. We are a group of friends who travel a lot and give this hotel 10 out of 10. Would certainly and have recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#9 of 10 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
20.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.