We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, atmosphere not so much.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangladesh Tandoori

Bangladesh Tandoori
10 John Street. | Dunoon, Dunoon PA23 8BN, Scotland
01369706000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food, atmosphere not so much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were visiting Dunoon and ate out here. The waitress was very polite - thank you! The man that took our order wasn't really talking, more mumbling and as we were ordering our mains - our starter came out ?! Anyway, not a big problem - the food was yummy and the tartan carpets are beautiful with the decor!

Only downside was we were sitting next to a party of 4 or 5 who had finished their meal before we arrived and were still drinking and talking very loudly whilst playing funny videos - not really the relaxed meal we'd planned for but all the same, it was a lovely meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    27
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime treat in Dunoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Discovered this gem on a daytrip to Dunoon via the Waverley. Excellent value fixed price lunch - all the usual favourites freshly cooked. Staff friendly and efficient and the room itself bright, clean and modern. Don't be put off by the unassuming entrance appearance - the Bangladesh Tandoori at under £7 for a 3 course lunch is a great choice if in Dunoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Run down, very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were in the area to visit my great auntie Jayne, she had recommended this establishment as well as Trip Advisor reviews we thought we would try it out.

The outside of the building really needs some money spending on it, the litter and debris in the garden makes you wonder where you are eating.

The welcome was ok as were the starters but the decor needs to be tidied up as well as doing something about the sticky carpets.
The chicken madras was mild and had cold chicken, the peshwari nann was lovely though, the only thing in my opinion worth eating.

We will not be visiting again the next time we are visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chicken didn't really taste like chicken...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a takeaway from here on 2 occasions recently. Rice, nan bread and sauces all lovely however on both occasions the chicken in the curry has not tasted or had the texture of chicken, hoping it's just the way it has been cooked. Quick service though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meal in Dunoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Lovely meal ,could have had a buffet meal but decided on a la carte really nice popodoms with dips , starters were very generous as was main course ,service was first class giving us plenty time to look at menu ,all in a great meal

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangladesh Tandoori also viewed

Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Bangladesh Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangladesh Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.