We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heat treatment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bombay Indian Restaurant

The Bombay Indian Restaurant
15 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7HH, Scotland
01369 703233
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 52 Restaurants in Dunoon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Heat treatment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The curry here is excellent. In particular noticed the Lamb, obviously it "IS" Lamb and "NOT" Mutton. Management and Staff could not be more helpful.Upgrade the interior, because it lets the food and staff down.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This restaurant was amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We fine this restaurant to be fantastic all year around.
The food is really nice with a great choice.
The staff was great in the restaurant and on the phone ,
Have eaten in this restaurant a couple of times and never had a bad meal and The food is of a high standard and the service is excellent with nothing too much trouble even when it was very busy x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thsi has to be one of the best asian meals I have had.
The food the service was very good, I have eaten here a few times over thirty years and it just gets better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Indian restaurant-would return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went here for the buffet this evening.there wasn't much choice for the buffet but what was served was lovely.the restaurant was very busy but didn't effect the service,which from the manager was excellent. The other customers however ruined it for us.a very large group was in and were very noisy.which is fair enough, but it was the group next to us that was the problem.shouting, swearing, and drumming there hands on the table for 20 minutes solid.was very annoying!i do think the manager should have said something.apart from this,we enjoyed it.not the best Indian weve had,but certainly not the worst!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Haywood
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced Mediocrity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Perhaps our expectations had been set too high? A combination of a local recommendation and the fact that we are blessed to know the best Chef Bangladesh has ever produced, who often spoils us with the highest quality dishes. Full of expectation we arrived at Bombay Restaurant. We were met by people who were pleasant and doing their very best to be helpful but who seemed to have received no training and knew little of the food they were serving. Our request for naga pickle was met by blank faces and we went without.

One very irritating factor was being asked if we had finished when we were all clearly still eating, the plates being removed when we were still taking food from them. Obviously our main courses were ready whether we wanted them or not. I must admit that our favourite restaurant has been accused of being slow at times, but at least when you get their food it's worth the wait.

For the starter, brave step for the restaurant and one to be sampled, but the fusion of Scottish and Indian cuisines will be avoided in future. In fairness quite nicely presented, but the Haggis Bhaji as a starter was neither Scottish or Indian, the two sets of flavours just not complementing each other.

Moving on to the mains, in fairness our friend enjoyed the Himalayan Chicken, a signature dish that he was impressed by. Unfortunately the other two dishes didn't make the same standard. the Prawn Saag included quite flavourless prawns and, aside from the rather off-putting green colour, showed little evidence of containing any spinach. The dish my wife chose was completely spoiled by the overpowering presence of uncooked chilli powder. It wasn't the heat of this that was the problem, Madras is her dish of choice, but the powdery texture and its flavour that hadn't been cooked in, detracted from all of the other flavours. This was a shame, because if you could get beyond chilli powder, the dish did contain fresh garlic and fresh chilli but these more subtle flavours were completely overwhelmed.

The sundries were all very mediocre and, frankly, seemed to have come from a packet. The Co-op Healthy Choice Naan from the night before was a class above the restaurants offering (do not think I am rating the Co-op Naan highly in saying that).

The drinks were extortionately priced - the price of a draft pint for a small bottle of Cobra andthe menu doesn't make clear it's just a 330ml serving you'll receive.

It was to our great surpise then that the bill totalled just short of £60 for three people. We could have eaten and drunk to a much better standard for 75% of that or less at our usual restaurant. If any of you people who think this is a great place to eat are ever in Staffordshire, take a trip to Shimla Palace to sample real quality www.shimlapalace.com. Alternatively and closer to home, Mother India in Glasgow.

For futre trips to the area we will live wthout Indian food, or if the craving is too great, we can always cook ourselves. My wife's Aloo Keema the night before was way better than this - if she can learn to cook a Naan Bread that would be it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bombay Indian Restaurant also viewed

Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Bombay Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bombay Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.