We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayfair

The Mayfair
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mayfair
Save
You added The Mayfair to your Saves list
7 Clyde St | Kirn, Dunoon PA23 8DX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
stoke-on-trent
1 review
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Mayfair staying in the Mcgregor suite. The ensuite room was spotless and had everything we needed for our stay including freeview TV,and the complementary tea, coffee and biscuits were replenished daily. Jenny and Dennis made us feel more than welcolme and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. Dennis ensured that we had a hearty cooked breakfast each morning to set us up for the day and then also provided information regarding places to visit and routes to get there to ensure we had good biking roads. Neither Jenny nor Dennis had any objections to the fact that we arrived on a motorbike (which does happen at some b&b's and hotels) and even provided a piece of slate to ensure it was parked safely on the shingle car park.
We would not hesitate to recommend this b&b to anyone travelling to Dunoon, they would certainly be assured of a warm and friendly welcolme and a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
10
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed in the Macgregor Room with a superb view over the Clyde and the bathroom also has seaview. Room was quite big, the furniture maybe a bit dated but everything was very tidy and clean. Jenny was very friendly, gave lots of tips of where to go and Dennis' s breakfast was great, very filling and set us up for the rest of the day. A very friendly place that I can certainly recommend for anyone stopping off in Dunoon

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

Personnal seervice is becoming difficult to find in this day and age - well we found it at the Mayfair. Dennis and Jenny made us extremely welcome and we could not fault the hotel or service. What a shame they had no control over the Scotish weather. Brekfast was the full English - super.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Jenny was watching out for us, and came into the car-park to see if we needed help:that set the tone for the rest of our stay. She hung up our dripping walking gear to dry, and took charge of my filthy boots. Breakfast was good: eight o'clock was early enough for us, but we could have asked for it earlier had we wished. Jenny was ready with information about the local area, and places we might like to walk. We had a fantastic view of the Clyde from our bedroom window. The location was excellent, and there were several eateries within walking distance of The Mayfair. I can't understand the negativity of a few of the other reviews, we have stayed in B & B's all over Scotland, and this is certainly in the upper echelons.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobyhanna, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed with the Graysons for 3 weeks. They made us feel welcomed and made our stay worth the money spent. The food was good and the rooms clean and comfortable.They Graysons made it seem as if we were staying with friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Connell, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The Mayfair has recently been recently upgraded and was comfortable, friendly, and a perfect location for travels in the west of Scotland, including the highlands and the Isle of Bute. This in the heart of the Cowal area, and not far from Glascow. Dennis and Jenny were great hosts, full of helpful suggestions about where to go and what to do. Breakfast was cooked to order, and they were very accommodating in every way. Their suggestions for places to see and visit were spot on, and we found great castles, churches,. museums, and scenery following their suggestions. They were very helpful directing us to places tied to our ancestors, and made the three-day visit a pleasant one. The Mayfair is a small hotel. B&B and has a lounge for reading, visiting or TV watching, and the room was ample, en suite, reasonably priced, and with a great view of the firth (or was it a loch?). We booked through an internet site that charged for the reservation service, so it would be a bit cheaper if you simply called them directly. If you plan to be there in peak season, plan ahead. Otherwise, you could probably make it a last minute stop. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Would not recommend to anyone.Rude and unhelpfull,do not go there

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair

Address: 7 Clyde St | Kirn, Dunoon PA23 8DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair is a large Victorian villa lovingly converted into a comfortable guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mayfair Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.