We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchorage B&B
Save Saved
You added The Anchorage B&B to your Saves list
Shore Road | Sandbank, Dunoon PA23 8QG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Fantastic B & B. From start to finish our stay at The Anchorage was amazing and we wished we had stayed longer. Richard makes you feel so welcome and at home and has great knowledge about the area. The home itself is a lovely old house with many period features and the rooms are of an exceptional standard. The gardens are well cared for and the views from the rooms are just lovely. We cannot praise Richard and Helen enough for the service we received during our visit and we would gladly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area. We will certainly be staying again when we next visit. Many thanks again for the bubbly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
44
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dalry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked a double room in advance of our one night stay. The website was hopeful and given I've been in the hospitality business for 23 years, sometimes you tend to come across certain places that don't really deliver what they say on the tin.

However, this place does not disappoint. Richard the host, from start to finish, was the kindest, helpful and perfect host who will go out of his way to ensure your stay at his estalbishment is not marred in any way.

From a warm welcome into his home as well as perfect cleanliness throughout, ample private parking, beautiful decor and good top end quality bed linen, this really was a home from home.

We stayed in the Heron Room, with a super king size bed overlooking the Holy Loch, there was nothing more we could have asked for.

Using their own hen's eggs was a nice touch to the already delicious breakfast.

We would highly recommend The Anchorage, whether it be for one night, or one week.....Richard and his property will not disappoint.

Room Tip: For couples, definitely the Heron room, with gorgeous views and more than ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only spent one night in the beautiful Heron room. Fabulous views over the Holy Loch. Very large and comfortable bed, pristine ensuite with Molton Brown soaps. Well tended gardens and good parking. Breakfast was scrummy, sitting in the large bay windowed room looking out to sea. Richard the host is a treasure. We will definitely stay longer on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Everything was first class during my recent 2 night business trip to Dunoon.
I wll always use The Anchorage iwhen in Dunoon in future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is such a special B&B. We stayed in Heron room, which has lovely decor, spectacular water views and the biggest and most comfortable bed imaginable. Every little touch has been thought of, with quality bedding and towels, nice toiletries, teas and biscuits, fresh milk, and comfy chairs. If you are walking in the area, there's a huge boot-room for muddy boots and wet coats. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Richard - a very experienced hotelier with a sure touch and such a generous approach to his guests. Breakfast was excellent too, with fresh fruit, and delicious eggs. We were heading south and were sorry that we could only stay for one night - the beautiful Benmore Gardens are a couple of miles up the road and we've already decided that this is THE place to stay when we visit there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

A real gem of a place to stay. Richard is very friendly and welcoming, and he goes out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean, fresh and cosy. The breakfast is excellent - I particularly recommend the poached eggs!! We'll definitely be back to stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Heron room at the start of our two week Highland tour. The location is excellent, the view over Holy Loch wonderful, the house and rooms are clean, warm, comfortable and styled to a very high standard. Richard and his family are lovely hosts and Richard could not do enough for us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B

Address: Shore Road | Sandbank, Dunoon PA23 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming detached Victorian house on the shores of the Holy Loch Argyll. 4 Refurbished en-suite rooms all with flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ideal base for touring the Scottish National Park. Boat and engine available (weather permitting) for the sole use of our guests. Warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage B&B Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.