We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milton Tower Hotel

Milton Tower Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Milton Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Milton Tower Hotel
West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Milton Tower Hotel owners George and Editha Fagan are very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpfull.
The accomodation is very comfortable, clean, cosy and very relaxing, its like a home from home for us.
Food is of excellent standard all tradtional home made meals and portion size very good left more than satisfied.
Lovely scenery all around and numerous places to visit , castle, bird sanctuary, gardens etc is a great base for seeing other places in and around Scotland.
Is also central location for evening entertainment within walking distance to locals bars etc.
Myself and husband have been frequently staying in hotel for over the past 20 years and wouldnt dream of going any where else, we always recommend it to friends and family, whom have also enjoyed stays there and plan to go back.
Have met some lovely people and have made new and close frinds throughout the verys.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jena, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Every time we come to Scotland we start or end our trip in Dunoon at the Milton Tower Hotel. We love to be here. It's like homecoming.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I love this Hotel! My Mam and Dad have been staying at Milton Tower for years. After my Mother pasted away, my Dad missed his visits so much, I decided to accompany him and loved it. The Hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, the meal are great, proper home cooking lovely! George and Editha are fantastic hosts nothing is to much trouble,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We started going to Dunoon in 2002 and whenever we come back to the UK we always visit Dunoon and of course stay at the Milton. Why ? well the value for one thing and you are treated so well, food is terrific and of course George and Editha just round it all off. They will do anything for you to help your stay be one that you will remember. Are we going again you bet!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

George and Editha who run the guest house are friendly and very helpful. The food is absolutely lovely with both breakfast and three-course dinner included; superv value for money. The rooms are clean, well mainitained and you are always guaranteed a good night's sleep. The guest house is located in a delightful setting, with adequate car parking facilities, and is central for visits to other areas in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soemmerda, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

In 2008 we married in Dunoon and stayed at Milton Tower Hotel. We were welcomed in a very lovely and warm way. Since that year we have come back to Dunoon every year and stayed in Milton Tower Hotel. We can'i imagine another stay. It is such a fantastic, friendly and warm atmosphere; very clean and a brilliant braekfast.
We recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We enjoyed a relaxing, very comfortable weekend with George and Editha. The food was great, I would recommend the Milton Tower Hotel for a happy holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Milton Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Tower Hotel

Address: West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is pleasantly situated and commands a magnificent view of the Firth of Clyde and is within easy walking distance of the town centre and ferry terminus on the traffic-free promenade. Dunoon itself caters for everyone, whether for long stays or just for our popular short breaks. For the adventurous guests, it's ideal for touring the Cowal Peninsula, the Highlands and surrounding areas. Walking, golfing, bowling, fishing, cycling and ferry cruising are also available locally. On the other hand, you can just relax and unwind in our comfortable lounge or in our well-laid-out garden, both overlooking the Clyde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Milton Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Tower Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milton Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.