We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Selborne Hotel to your Saves list
Selborne Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Mullion
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Selborne Hotel, Clyde Street - not to be mistaken for the Selborne B&B also in Dunoon, is in a great position. I had a room with a view of the Clyde - number 118, which was great. The shower was brilliant - hot and powerful. The double bed was comfortable, the television was a bit small if you wanted to read narrative from the bed - even with my glasses on, but overall it was a nice room and I would definitely stay again - provided I could have the same room or similar. The staff were very friendly - my allotted table for breakfast and dinner was laid out so that again I could look out over the long garden and the Clyde. There was a coach party staying so most of the tables were taken, but I didn't have to wait long to be served at any time. The menu was quite adequate for my tastes and the wine palatable (at dinner not breakfast!!).
There was evening entertainment - not particularly to my taste - but it seemed to be enjoyed by others - starting off with a bingo session going on to whatever was on later in the evening. I was not aware of any noise/music whilst in my room.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms look out over the garden towards the Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derry
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an old dated hotel,I dont even mind that,The staff couldn,t be nicer and the food is very good.The rooms are very clean,the only thing annoyed me was how small the bedrooms were and it was worth it to upgrade to seaview.Its still very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

stayed in the hotel for four nights room was small but clean and tidy maybe a little dark as the window in the room was small weather was very warm and asked for a fan but they had none food was to a very high standard plenty of choice on the menu the hotel is a little dated bar could do with updating staff where very friendly and helpful the hotel looks nice from the sea front side but the main entrance is very disappointing could do with a makeover but once inside the staff and cleanness make it a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Selborne Hotel for 4 nights on an Alpha coach holiday. I had a lovely third floor single room with a fantastic view along the Firth of Clyde, definintely worth paying the supplement. My room was well maintained and had a shower cublicle, no bath, which suited me. There was always a good supply of hot water and the room was kept clean and tidy. The food was adequate with good choices on both the breakfast and the evening menu. The evening entertainment was brilliant and all the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. There was a lovely walk along the promenade and the views breathtaking! I had a wonderful time and would love to have a return visit.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a view across the Firth of Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamartin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The facilities were excellent, the staff were most helpful and pleasant. Rooms were serviced each day and most comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent and the views from both the dining hall and our room were breathtaking. The walk into town was beautiful and only a short distance. I will definitely visit again and recommend it highly

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Essex
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for week holiday with Alfa coach tours with my Mum. The hotel is in a quiet location right on the pedestrianised promenade and has lovely views across the loch. The walk to town, pier & ferry is about 10mins. The hotel is huge!! Our room was clean & comfortable, excellent shower (bathroom recently refurbished), with hairdryer, kettle etc & tv. Comfy beds and a good nights sleep, our room was at the back overlooking residential area). The bar area & restaurant are nicely decorated, meals were lovely (good choice of veggie options) and staff friendly and helpful. There was bingo and entertainment (singer, accordian and piper) most nights. Bar prices are a bit pricey. The only let down, we thought, was the garden, its massive with great views but not much has been done to it & was rather neglected, so much more could be done to make it a real asset to the hotel and make it more enjoyable. Overall a great stay, would stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel has a great location. When the mist clears it is a lovely view along the river Clyde. This was the first, and last, time of staying here. The room, we eventually agreed on, was on the third floor and we paid a supplement for a sea view which was worth the extra. It was a good size, the bathroom is in need of refurbishment, actually everywhere, although spotlessly clean, is in need of re-decoration. Unless towels were left in the shower tray they were not replaced by fresh ones. This hotel seems to be run on very regimented lines, a bit like work to rule!
We were unfortuante enough to be placed on a later sitting in the dining room for our meals. It is all waiter service. One morning we were late for breakfast by a couple of minutes, the waiter told us we might not get our "starter", we I found most amusing. a starter either being fruit juice, porride or cereal. Getting to your table early doesn't count, you will not be served until the given time, and if the staff are busy this could be well after your alloted time. The other problem with being on a late sitting food was not always as hot as one would have liked and arrived only warm. The quality of food is fair, I have had worse, and the choice seems to be well planned. If you want the special of the day, which is not always as exciting as you would hope, you have to request that at breakfast. Asking for a packed lunch seems a simple enough request, however, you cannot give a preference as to how you would like your sandwich - the manager told me that they didn't do "a la carte" sandwiches, I worked as a catering manager myself in two very big corporate companies, never in my career had I ever heard of an "a la carte" sandwich! So the choice is very basic, cheese, tuna, salad or ham. I had requested tuna mayonnaise with some sald on it - no, you can't have it, just a basic sandwich. The manager came over as an extremely pompous individual with poor customer service - he really shouldn't be in hospitality if he cannot keep his customer's happy. The entertainment is about what you would expect. Bingo is the game that everyone seems to love, if you don't like it keep out of the bar area while it is on, no-one dare speak but if you do you get shushed from all directions. The main body of staff are all very pleasant and do try their best within the contraints of their manager's instructions. The hotel was well heated, a little bit too hot in the bedrooms and many of us actually turned off the heat as it would have been unbearable to sleep. On the whole for a short break it was good value for money, I expect in the summer months it would be a really nice place to be, located right on the promenade which has lots of benches to sit on and all seem to be dedicated to people that have enjoyed their time in Dunoon.

Room Tip: Room 128 has already had a refurbished bathroom, room 306 near to the lift and an uninterrupted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Selborne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 2-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selborne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.