We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selborne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Selborne Hotel to your Saves list
Selborne Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

just came back from a 4 night break,the hotel was lovely except for our room which was spotless i may add it was on ground floor great,only problem was the window was frosted glass you could not see out at all it was like being in a shower block, we comlpained and was given a other room but that had 1 double and 1 single which was not what we wanted which was all single ,so we had to stay in the shower block window, the hotel was not full as there was a empty section of tables in dining room i thought that a room for 3 single could have been found, the only other prob was the age i am 62 going on 32 lol it it did not have a mixed age group far to old for me, THE STAFF WHERE 150% THE FOOD WAS LOVELY set times i was not 2 keen on HOTEL WAS SPOTLESS but money wise it was great

Room Tip: room number 7 has no view at all frosted glass
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just had our third stay at the Selbourne and will be going back again. We have booked again for New Year and also a week in the summer so we can see a bit more of the area knowing that when we get back to the hotel there will be a good meal and a welcome. The rooms we have had have been comfortable, clean and warm (just what you need in winter in Scotland). The food was plenty and tasty and you can have something different if you want (and some of the people we were with did). The staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble if you want extra towels, tea and coffee it there for you. The manager William is really great and the reception, bar staff and restaurant staff just as friendly and happy. Want a break in a good hotel with nice happy people and great food then go to the Selbourne

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A party of us spent three nights at the Selborne over New Year, it was FAB, where do I start, the food was brilliant, the staff were very friendly, the Management were exceptional. We had a blast and it was over all too soon. We had fancy dress on our last night which was great fun and our manager William joined us too. Loved Nancy our singer too. We have already booked to go back this year and it cant come quick enough. Honestly, we just cant praise the entire package enough. It gets 10/10 from us.....WELL DONE SELBORNE!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL X

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

this is a good 2 star hotel ,our room with its sea view was fine , the meals were of a very good standard and plentiful, our problem was, we stopped with an alpha coach holiday were the average age seemed to be 85 and a very nice group of people the were . we had some minor niggles, such as they only take cash at the bar, and we could not run a tab and the rigid meal times,

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view as other guests were very disappointed with the rooms at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at The Selborne for one night on November 20th. It was a last minute visit due to us being unable to stay where we had originally planned. We found the hotel to be excellent value for money. The bedrooms and bathrooms and immaculately clean. The sea view was stunning. The manager and staff were friendly and welcoming. The food at dinner and breakfast was good, and served quickly and efficiently. There was a group in the hotel for a five day turkey and tinsel break. We spoke to many of their group, and they had nothing but compliments for the hotel and its staff. They were all having a great time.
Many Thanks to the Manager William, Sue on reception and the rest of the team for welcoming us to their lovely hotel at such short notice. I am sure that this won't be the last time i visit Dunoon. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Alyson

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed in October for 3 nights as part of a Gaelic Choir attending the Dunoon Mod. 4 choirs in total were staying so the hotel was absolutely full. Nevertheless, we had excellent service from everyone, the very busy manager dealt quickly with any problems, and every member of staff was very helpful , friendly and efficient. The variety and quality of food served was very good, and the dining room service was excellent from friendly professional staff, and the bar staff stayed on into the wee small hours for as long as was required. The views from the dining room were outstanding. There is adequate car parking and there is a lift in the hotel. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: many rooms have sea views, worth asking for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

For o 2* hotel this was fine. Hotel is old and tired and in need of renovation but, though small ( our room) it was clean. Menus were basic but food was adequate or the price. Only adequate for the coach party scenario. Staff were lovely and service was first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel

Address: Clyde Street, Dunoon PA23 7HT , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Selborne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selborne Hotel - Dunoon [3 Alpha & AA 2-Star]. Superbly situated looking south across the Clyde with pleasant lawns reaching down to the promenade and water's edge. All the public rooms and many of the bedrooms offer uninterrupted views of the river which is a constant source of interest. Ground floor areas include a TV lounge, bar lounge with dance floor, quiet lounge and games room. 98 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the bar lounge. The lift serves almost all rooms. Car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Selborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selborne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.