We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxbank B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxbank B & B
Save
You added Foxbank B & B to your Saves list
141 Marine Parade, Dunoon PA23 8HJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Livingston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed here on and off for last 2 weeks as working in the area, it is a real home from home, owners are very friendly,(and funny) breakfast is brilliant, free range eggs etc and homemade bread, rooms are spacious and clean with fantastic views, will definitely stay here again,

Room Tip: ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and it was a home from home. The room was very spacious and the views were beautiful. They had 2 armchairs in the bay window overlooking the sea and you could sit and watch the sun going down, wonderful. We had just settled into the room when we were offered ginger cake for our supper, it was delicious. The room was en suite and very clean and would definately recommend this B & B it was a pity we could not stay longer. The Breafast was very good and they went out their way to make sure everybody had what they wanted. We would definately return when in Dunoon

Room Tip: Have one at the front of the house great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have just had a fabulous 3 day stay at Foxbank where the hosts Ronnie and Lawther lived up to all our expectations and more. Breakfasts were wonderful and everything was freshly cooked to order. We had a different breakfast each day and that set us up for the day. Each evening, there was home baking to have with a cup of tea. The views from our bedroom were spectacular and each evening, after dinner and a walk, we spent just watching time go by. I would not hesitate in recommending Foxbank for a stay. Ronnie and Lawther are so good at what they do and immediately make guests feel very welcome. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe Lancs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Spent 4 nights while visiting friends in Innellan. Very well looked after, home baking at supper time, home made bread at breakfast. Full cooked breakfast of your choice, warm comfortable rooms, Right on the promenade overlooking the Firth of Clyde, views stupendous. Very pleasant and friendly proprietors, in fact it was like "coming home".

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Stayed here overnight while in Dunoon to deliver a training session.

We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and within 10minutes of arriving we were offered a piece of shortbread for our supper.

The room I stayed in was a twin room, and was very spacious. It didn't have an ensuite but I did have my own private toilet and shower room across the hall. Didn't bother me at all - but may bother some people.

Wireless Internet access was available for free.

I would definately recommend the Fox Bank B&B to anyone travelling either for pleasure or for business.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawther3, Lawther at Foxbank B & B, responded to this review, March 13, 2010
Thank you for taking time to put your comments on Trip adviser, I do appreciate it. Trying to work out if people really do read them??
Hope to see you again sometime

Lawther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne Valley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

A friend and I stayed at Foxbank on the last night of a motorcycle trip round Scotland. We found the accommodation very biker-friendly, with off-road hard-standing for the bikes and spacious rooms for the riders. Mr & Mrs Lawther were extremely welcoming and, all in all, it's a place to be recommended for bikers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

I stayed here for one week in June 2008. I was attending a friend's wedding in Dunoon and was travelling alone at first and my husband and son joined me the following week. I therefore stayed in two rooms, a twin and a family room, both at the front of the house with excellent views the Firth of Clyde. Both rooms were comfortable and clean with en-suites, the large family room en-suite having a bath.

Lawther cooks to order for breakfast and was very patient and jolly with our infant son who found the ornaments in the dining room a little too interesting. She even lent us a booster seat when we went out driving with friends. She provides something to eat at suppertime like a scone or cake. The atmosphere was very friendly and relaxed which was important for me as my husband and son were arriving jet-lagged after a long flight from Japan.

The location is quiet and we slept well. It takes about 20 - 30 minutes to walk into the main streets of Dunoon or there are buses and a taxi costs about 5 pounds. It is easy to get down to the foreshore across the road from Foxbank and there is a general store and cake shop about 10 minutes on foot along Marine Parade in Kirn.

  • Liked — The views from the rooms, the relaxed atmosphere and helpful hosts.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foxbank B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxbank B & B

Address: 141 Marine Parade, Dunoon PA23 8HJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Foxbank B & B Dunoon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxbank B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.