We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grange Farm
Save
You added Grange Farm to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Grange Chine | Brighstone Bay, Brighstone PO30 4DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for the kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the largest of the converted barns (the Haybarn) and had a thoroughly wonderful time.

On the positive side, the place had character, was well equipped and clean. The children's playground was better than most playgrounds in local parks and the children also loved seeing all the animals and even insisted on saying goodbye to them all when we left! The on site shop was better stocked than we were expecting and was competitively priced! Anything you couldn't get was easily acquired in the village shop just 1km away! The pub next door to the village shop also served good food with a children's play area.

If you are overly fussy, there were a few things in need of repair (flush in downstairs loo was hanging off the wall for example) and the hot water broke down twice duing our stay - but we were there to have a good time so were not going to let this worry us too much. My only real gripe was that having ordered 2 cots for our toddlers (at extra cost), there was not enough room for them both to be located in the bedrooms, so they placed the other on the landing at the top of the stairs. This was so impractical that we couldn't use it and the elder child had to sleep in a bed for the first time (and enjoyed the freedom to get up)!

Due to it's south east facing nature it can get very windy but with a short walk down a steep slope to the beach it is convenient and safe if you have children. The owners and staff were all friendly and the whole stay was relaxing with a very pleasant atmosphere but I would encourage them to extend to opening hours of the on site shop to more than just 9-5!

Considering there is a camp site there too, you do not get disturbed by this and even the communal campsite facilities are very clean!

Would I book again - yes. Would I recommend - yes (unless the minor maintenance issues would bug you)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
denmead
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Love this campsite, been a few times but could not make it this year. Just spent a weekend on the Island & had to pop in on our travels. Something draws you to this place.Must be the friendliness & relaxed atmosphere.Will certainly be back . Definately the nicest side of the Island in our opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great campsite for families. A little windy the first night we were there, and it didn't help we were putting the tent up in the dark.
The facilities were good. Showers always warm. Everything well maintained.
Our daughter didn't want to come home she was having such a great time.
Easy access to the beach from the campsite.
Very well stocked campsite shop - but get in early for the freshly baked bread.
Really nice family run campsite, we will come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a great 10 day stay here, we camped in quieter overflow camping field where we had plenty of room , great view of sea but it was very windy and on a couple of nights it was extremely gusty (approx 40 mph gusts) which was a little hairy and made us perhaps wish we had camped in one of the other, slightly more sheltered fields. Luckily we hadn't camped right at the top of the cliff edge. Windbreak blew down but thankfully no tent damage, although some of our neighbours didn't fair so well.
Camp shop sells longer length tent pegs which they recommend in order to camp of this exposed site. Staff are all very helpful and advise people to check weather forecast every day (which they print out and put in shop window).

Camp shop is surprisingly good value for money, the guys in the shop are great, really friendly and helpful.

Facilities are pretty good for a campsite, laundry machines, dryers, iron, ironing board (all of which pay surcharge for - £2 for wash, 20p in iron for maybe 5 mins (didn't really time it), dryer takes £1 coins), dishwashing area with lots of hot water, showers are free - cleanliness is ok - staff clean lots in the busy time of the morning, they would be even better with a refurb, having to keep pressing button every few seconds to keep water flowing is a bit annoying & cubicles are quite small if i'm being picky but they are perfectly functional and nicer than you get on a lot of sites

There is a playground for smaller kids which looks really fun, small farmyard to look at with rabbits, goats, chickens, pigs etc which is nice to look around.

Camping fields are flat (top of overflow field and top of one next to it are slightly sloping) in the main and ideal for pitching

Road through campsite to beach is steep in one section so maybe not suitable for someone with mobility problems but otherwise ok everyone else. If you had young children you need to be aware that much of the campsite is right on the edge on the cliff and unfenced (overflow field has a barbed wire fence to separate it from coastal path)

There is a footpath, with styles, starting on opposite side of road from campsite to walk to local village of Brighstone as road doesn't have a pavement.

Had a great holiday here, campsite was everything and more that we expected, lovely to be so near to the sea, would return here if I visited IOW again though we did think the nightly rate was a little bit expensive (paid £28 per night for a normal family size tent, 2 adults, 2 kids and a dog). Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just got back from Grange Farm, 9 nights camping with 2 children under 8. Was able to pitch on the cliff top behind the safe fence as no pre-marked pitches. Outstanding views and amazing hearing the waves crashing at night time. Very windy sometimes although no tents went down. Children loved the rustic but interesting park and played there for hours and made lots of friends. Shop had good provisions, including camping spares ie: tent pegs. Only let down was that it didn't open till 9am which we feel was a bit late, but stayed on until quite late. Main toilet and washing up area very good and clean. Hot water was abit too hot. Used the family shower everyday, great with loads of space! Beach is very stoney, with not much sand unless you walked further along the beach. Village shop was very good and had good supply, didn't fancy walking there thought as no footpaths but only a 5 minute drive. Village also has really nice local pub and tea room, haridresser, newsagent and postoffice. All in all a fantastic camping site, with views we feel would be hard to beat. 9/5 out of 10. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great Site for Kids , in fact Kids all over the place, I had my own 2 with me so they got to make friends easy enough.

Beach not 5 mins away , Animals to look at, good swing park and great wee shop.

My ONLY GRIPE and this is me directing it not only at this site but many, with the emphasis being on families why can we not have family showers , I was there with my 2 sons and shower time was pretty harsh as we cannot all fit in a very small cubicle so if they could increase the size of the showers that would be awesome...other than that great location , great place and great shop...

Well done :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have just returned yesterday from Grange Farm. We stayed in a static caravan, which was one of only 12. It was a stones throw from the beach. Beautiful location, great people, we will be back.

The place is a gem, quiet and peaceful and near many great places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Farm

Address: Grange Chine | Brighstone Bay, Brighstone PO30 4DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Brighstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Brighstone
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Grange Farm Hotel Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.