We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The True Briton

The True Briton
24-26 Harbour Street, Folkestone CT20 1QN, England (Formerly the true briton)
01303 258907
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 140 Restaurants in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $46
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Doing business, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Still as Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Visited again as noticed it had re-opened after the winter break. Same chef and food just as good. I had baked Camembert with an excellent salad, sliced apple and grapes on the plate, very well dressed. Excellent value at £6.95. A nice basket of crusty bread on the table.Two friends had soup of the day (cream of vegetable) declared excellent and another garlic mushrooms with garlic bread. All very well presented and tasty. Four people on the next table had fish of the day and chips which looked scrumptious and we heard them complimenting the chef. We will return

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    14
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

At the last minute we decided to eat out and came across the true Brit on here. So glad we did. Excellent food great service and very reasonable price too. Will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“great valentines dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was in the restaurant the same time as the previous reviewer and had a wonderful evening with my partner. The only thing that spoilt it was jukeboxcanary huffing about having to wait 15 minutes for his food. Fortunately for me I had the last steak and very good it was too. The poor waitress did her best, and he forgot to say that he continued complaining to the bar staff downstairs and was compensated with 2 free drinks. We will be back soon. x

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“WE WAITED...AND WAITED...AND WAITED.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I believe that this is only the third time in 55 years of dining out as man and boy that I have actually left an establishment without sampling a morsel. On a Saturday evening and with only three other tables occupied we were told that three of the main meals were "off". Fair enough. But then I ordered the steak...and waited...and waited...and waited. After FORTY MINUTES the exceptionally young and inexperience waitress (you know the sort; the one who says "No worries" after every comment even she is obviously no Australian) came back to say that the steak was "off" too. I asked mildly: "Really? The chef has discovered this after 40 minutes?" She had the grace to look a bit embarrassed while giving us the menu once more. We decided we had given them enough of our time and left, leaving the money for the two glasses of wine we had consumed on the table. We went to the bar downstairs to decide where to go to eat. Two minutes later the waitress scurried down to inquire about paying for the wine. I told her the money was on the table and perhaps she should have looked first before chasing after us...Need I say more about this establishment?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent everything ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Excellent every thing from place to service to food all good can't get better Valentine's special night my girl friend is now to be my wife

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The True Briton also viewed

 

Been to The True Briton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The True Briton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.