We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wycliffe Hotel

The Wycliffe Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wycliffe Hotel to your Saves list
The Wycliffe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   63 Bouverie Road West, Folkestone CT20 2RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Great value & friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I booked the smallest room in the house, room 15, right at the top of this older style hotel, it was great value and served the purpose of a single nights bed for the night. This place is excellent value, and nice people good breakfast too,
I like the fact they had a trust bar which is rare, even though I did not use it

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
24
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willebroek, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we booked this hotel for our last night in the UK before taking the ferry back to Calais. We were welcomed by the owners who helped with our luggage and who were really kind. We had the front room on the first floor which had a lot of space and a small but clean bedroom, we ate dinner which was basic but really well cooked with a good price value. Breakfast was a little basic for me, but ok. The location of the hotel is really well, it's just a small walk to the sea shore.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dersingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

we booked a room for night before going to France and Spain, it is a very nice family place. The room was very comfortable and clean, although rather small. the bed was very comfortable and was a quiet place to stay.
The breakfast was perfect and the people were very friendly and very helpful.
we would recommend to any one wanting to stay in Folkstone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked a room in this hotel so we could be close by the animal park, we thought the service we received was very good, really nice friendly people and communal areas were tidy and clean.

The room we had was nice (quite old fashioned) but still nice and clean. We had an en-suite toilet that was really small almost like a cupboard but the room was cheap so we wasn't really that bothered. We could hear some noise from our room, I think it was people using the shared bathroom and the creaky stairs but again, it didn't bother us that much.

It was great that we could park our car in the car park as a lot of places don't have that. The breakfast was nice and the garden was really nice to sit out in.

We had a pleasant stay here, I just think it needs a bit of modernising.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This nice little family run B&B is very good and night or a few. Situated in a quiet part of Folkestone, the B&B is a short walk to the waterfront and only a stroll down to the restaurant areas.

The rooms are quite comfortable with good beds, plenty of space and every thing you need. Our view was out over the common to the old church adjacent. The bathroom was shared but only with one or two other rooms. Breakfast was substantial and there were good choices available.

The hosts are very accommodating and provide a genuine welcome and good advice on things to do and places to eat. There is some parking on site but it is tight and quite limited. We ended up parking on the street which presented no problems.

I recommend the Wycliffe - comfortable, quiet and well priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My family stayed at the Wycliffe Hotel in Folkestone for two nights and had two totally different experiences. We were visiting relatives in the area but were unable to stay with at the last minute due to ill health. With no advanced booking we were lucky to obtain a large family room with ensuite consisting of a double and two single bed. The room had high ceilings, a bay window with lovely views of the garden and was nicely decorated with all the trimmings of a Victorian house. We wanted to stay a second night but had to move to the attic room. Although it had the same bedding arrangements we had to share the ensuite although luckily no one else was on this level. However, this second room had low ceiling and was very cold and we had to have the two heathers on nearly all night to keep warm. After saying that the host was excellent and very accommodating and we got an exceptionally good rate for the room which included off road parking. We had a nice hot full cook breakfasts each day and although the breakfast room was large it smelt a little musty which could have been use to some renovations that were going on at the time. However, the hotel is in a quiet location and within walking distance to the main shopping centre. The rating given are related to the overall experience of our stay but if I were writing a review on just our first night visit the review would be higher.Would we stay here again, Yes but I would ensure that I booked the family room with its own ensuite where we stayed on the first night. Would we stay here again...YES but I would ensure that I booked the family room with the ensuite on the first floor, where we stayed the first night.

Room Tip: If travelling in a group of four or with children bookthe family room with the ensuite on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The most positive aspects of the Wycliffe are the warm hospitality and helpfulness of the owners, who did their best for us and and the fact that the hotel is very dog-friendly by UK standards.
The down sides? We booked a double room which was in fact no more than a poor single with a double bed. I am slightly claustrophobic and suffered a panic attack during the night. I barely slept. The room was not clean, nor was the bedding.
As a consequence I cancelled a return visit one week ahead of time only to be charged a £30 cancellation fee. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express which was different class.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wycliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wycliffe Hotel

Address: 63 Bouverie Road West, Folkestone CT20 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wycliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,comfortable, family run hotel with own private off road car park. Situated in pleasant residential street, overlooking Trinity Gardens & picturesque Trinity church, yet close to town centre & all local amenities. Convenient for Channel Tunnel & Dover ferries.Children & pets are welcome.Evening meals can be provided by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wycliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wycliffe Hotel Folkestone
The Wycliffe Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wycliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.