We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Southcliff to your Saves list
The Southcliff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellant staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everyone member of staff that I met was fantastic, friendly and helpful.
I was in a "value room" which is very basic but clean.
The bath tub was fine but they really could do with equipping it with tiles and a shower curtain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    79
    84
    47
    54
See reviews for
37
134
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights -booked through travelstyle(ukbreakaways) paid just £99 pp for dinner Bed &B'fast.
Room was great nice seaview and nice hot shower, huge double bed and a cot was offered for our 2 children but not req, we only had the dinner on 1 night as we were out at a music event the other nights food was fine nothing special but more then adaquate the same with breakfasts.
The staff for meals were great especailly a chap (possibly Laslo?) and blonde haired young lady both were great with our kids and helped keep them happy which they didnt need to do as they were busy but still made time to wave to the kids and say hi...
THe bar wasnt that pricey as some have said £3.60 - £3.80 a pint is the norm in hotels ive stayed at! again the lady who worked the bar (whilst still working reception) was lovely and friendly.
All in i highly recommend this hotel for its great friendly staff and very cheap rates they even found a room for a friend of ours for 3 nights after his other accomadation fell through despite the whole of folkestone being booked up with people attending the Ska Music Festival !
Give it a go for the price!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our second visit and we were hoping for the rooms to have been updated!!! it wasn't to be.Again the furniture needed going in a skip,the walls were damp and peeling,windows dirty and sticky carpet.Good points were the staff who were very helpful and friendly,they all work really hard,lovely clean towels and sheets,toileteries,tea and coffee etc clean cups,plenty of hot water and spacious bathroom with shower.If the rooms were updated one at a time at least it would be a start,it is a beautiful building just crying out to be sympathetically restored,i know it is very expensive to do it all at once but surely one at a time is managable,i did suggest the hotel inspector paid a visit last time (at least she would do a few rooms haha).The reception area is lovely and you think the rest of the hotel will be the same but sadly it isnt.The food was fine and hot and served quickly,lovely polite staff again,would stay again with a reduction in price as the view is stunning.Look forward to the rooms being refurbished.we also had a visit from a ghost which was fine its the living we should be afraid off haha.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginavegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here August 12-15th. The hotel was great value for money. From the moment we walked in the Manager Ian and all the staff was nothing but helpful and friendly. The location was superb, right next to the beach.I have already recommended it to all my friends. The full English breakfast was always hot and the poached egg was cooked to perfection.We are already getting ready to book next years trip.See you soon.

Mr Smith from London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We read the reviews on the Hoel and the one thing we picked up on from other reviews was it was good as a base for an overnight stay and as we were out all day and only needed it as a base we booked two value rooms. The rooms are indeed in need of a revamp, however they were spotless and the bed linen all immaculate and clean towels were left for our second night and the rooms tea/coffee refilled so it was as we expected and if you can see passed the old decor and tables and worn chairs it is clean. The staff are lovely and breakfast was very good. Parking was no issue (a carpark is very close by) and we had no problems with noise. If you are having a drink in the Hotel Bar you do need cash as they do not have a machine but we had cash so that was not a problem. This is not a Hotel you would book for a weeks holiday necassarily but as a base or an overnight stay for a ferry it is ideal and I am sure once the value rooms are redecorated it will raise bar even higher! Also the showers were a little slow to run pressure wise which was a tad annoying but once refurbed I am sure it would be just fine.

Room Tip: If you book a value room bear in mind they are very basic, if you are going to be in the room a fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest


thank you for your unbiased and honest review.
these are the types that assist me on what direction is required to refurb the Hotel, as no point spending money in wrong areas!!

I do hope you use us again and I recommend booking a sea view Balcony Double [ask for room 11!!!!!]

regards

Ian
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night going, and returning to the continent. Our coach was late due to traffic, but we had been given the dinner menu by phone, and ordered our meal.We arrived hot,sweaty and bad-tempered due to travelling from Scotland in a coach with no air con. on the hottest day of the summer. But the staff ushered us straight to the dining room before allowing us to go for a wash even.The meal was hot, but dried out.My room, on the 4th floor was not good. There was no phone in the room - what if you were ill overnight?. The fire instructions on the door just told you to make your way out and go across the road. No direction to exit.On our return journey, we filled out menus on arrival, yet the soup we wanted had run out - they had served it to other people, and we were still awaiting our main course when others of our party had finished sweet.We complained about the delay to the waitress..I went to reception and asked for the manager. It turned out that he had heard us complaining as he was doing the cooking nearby. He did not apologise, just made excuses.

Room Tip: Find somewhere more accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for the review on the site.
Due to the lengthy delay of the coach, we extended the dinner time so that you would have a Hot meal, rather than Salads that are normally prepared for late arrivals.
The coach operator called and it was agreed to do a comp drink from themselves.
in regards to telephones, I am unsure of any 2 star AA hotel that has these as it is not a legal requirement. Our public pay phone makes £10 per month, and the cheapest business line rental is £12.50 PCM, and all travellers normally carry mobile phones in an emergency. I do appreciate that if you are travelling alone and take ill, it may be difficult to communicate.

Our Fire Officer recently passed our standards, but I will ask him to [again] re check

on your return journey, I never said I was cooking nearby. I said that I passed by.
in regards to an apology, There were 4 guests all discussing between themselves, and I interupted them to see what was going on, as I prefer dealing face to face, not hiding away like some others. I personally apologised to 5 other guests that due to some of your fellow travellers not pre-ordering, stock ran out. we cook fresh produce NOT tins that you demanded., and if I never said sorry to you, then it was unintentional. from your profile picture, I clearly remember you, as you said that you were from Edinburgh and i joked about being from the West. this you found humourous, when in reality, you were angry. that will teach me to make jokes and lighten the mood

once again, I do apologise that my answers or manner comes across as abrubt, as I am normally very polite

Ian Jackson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Down at heel but bed comfortable and clean and breakfast fine. All told we got what we paid for - £49.50 for a double, room 24 large room with steps down to bathroom -large old bath with worn enamel and no shower- and then steps down to the bedroom. With a total refurb it could be a lovely room but at the moment it is no more than basic. Good position on promenade, sea front below accessed by funicular or paths down. Ok for 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Kali222

thank you for the review.
we are slowly working our way through our 75 bedrooms, and I do agree that room 24 would be a fantastic bedroom once completed!

regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Address: 22 - 26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Leas Promenade, overlooking the English Channel, The Southcliff Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas, a stylish bar and wonderful views.The traditional bedrooms each have tea and coffee facilities and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Rooms also feature a flat screen TV [free view] and ironing facilities [on request]. Some have sea views or private balconies. The Office Bar and Restaurant features modern decor and hosts frequent live music. Just 20 minutes’ drive from Dover Ferry and Cruise Terminals, Southcliff Hotel is a short walk from Folkestone’s sandy beach. Folkestone Harbour is a 10-minute walk, and Folkestone Central Railway Station is just half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Southcliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.