We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K.!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Burstin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Burstin Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Burstin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Co. Durham, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“O.K.!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the second time, again via a coach trip weekend and, just as before, you get what you pay for !!! Hotel room was damp, smelled damp but warm for a raging
gale outside. Food was adequate for a school, mass catering bash, and you can't beat a .99p bar !!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel in Folkstone
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    560
    565
    326
    504
See reviews for
332
1,002
88
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for 1 night , upgraded to premier executive room , room was clean , bed comfortable , the food was good with plenty of choice , evening entertainment was ok , drinks were reasonably priced , overall a good night

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If it hadn't been late and a wild night, then we would have gone elsewhere (in spite of having paid in advance)
The hotel is dirty, out of date and UNSAFE. We were warned that the fire alarm goes off at any time...it DID at 05:55 .....we were unable to hear the words of the announcement regarding this until I opened the bedroom door and propped it open until we heard it the next time. The announcement informed that they were investigating the alarm......it is my knowledge of fire safety that I KNOW the only "body" who can declare any false alarms is a Fire Officer.
We were two....there was just one bath towel / one hand towel.....both crisp and grey....FILTHY glasses in the bathroom. The place is so bad that we both left without eating the included breakfast or stepping foot in the shower. Had we had children in our party then we would have left and gone elsewhere immediately.
The windows on the landing/s were stuffed with toilet tissue &masking tape....ask a Fire Officer just what a hazard this is alone??

Room Tip: JUST DON'T GO there until it had been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Upon arrival trying to find a car parking space in the hotels parking was a nightmare. Cars parked all over the place - not in parking spaces. So if you did magically find a space there would be no way you could get your car out again because someone would block you in. Then we were told that parking cost £3.50 a day!! Despite the website I booked through says FREE parking. We arrived quite late in the evening and where told the restaurant was closed. The package we booked included bed, dinner and breakfast. But trying the breakfast in the morning we were glad we missed dinner as everything was inedible and undrinkable. We had our breakfast at Weatherspoons in the town and had some lovely meals at other restaurants in Folkestone. The room we had was fine, clean and adequate. Had some lovely old furniture in it - all matching. But you could hear the hotels entertainment until midnight each night from the room. And being woken up at 4am by a false fire alarm was not amusing. All in all in hindsight should have stayed at a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

what can i say about our stay.
well, parking when we arrived... 15 mins..
then we were told parking was £3.50 per day, pay now..thought this was included
i called yourselves within 15 mins to have our room changed. due to it being a smoking room (i'm asthmatic) and when we opened the window, the false ceiling lifted up and moved..
within 30 mins the fire alarm had gone off twice.
not the best start to our first weekend away since getting married.
the new room was very nice, but the windows/sealed units were all blown and full of condensation. view was very poor.
damp on the walls and mould in the bathroom.. (my wife has an autoimmune condition)
they had put a new kettle in there... but the lead was too short, so it had to be used on the floor...health and safety i think..
breakfast was nice.. but the blind next to the table were covered in stains of food and drinks from some time before...
we got told by cleaning staff on the way to breakfast and the way back, "well, they didn't clean that room well, the new guests found dirty knickers on the floor in room 319, glad it wasn't me cleaning it.."
we then enjoyed the day in the town center.
we popped into a travel agents where he laughed and felt sorry for us, when he knew where we were staying...
we went back to the hotel and thought a nice chill out in the pool.... £4.00 each please, and that's for 3 hours...plus £1 each for a towel...thought this was included...we only used it once....guests were aloud to smoke in the pool area...???
we had a great meal within the hotel..very nice...
the ballroom/entertainment was a ticket only event... more expense..thought this was included...
then 4 am the fire alarm again.... no notification when it stopped, so i called reception, got told only the corridors get told all is OK.... not good..
breakfast time, no sausages, no coffee, had to wait 15 mins...

we did bring these details to management...she was not a people person... we left unhappy...

all in all not the sort of stay i was looking for.....

we took photos and videos..

a secret shopper is needed here i think..

Room Tip: ask for a non smoking room!!! harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I am shocked to see some of the negative comments here on tripadvisor and would love to know what standard some people expect from a hotel charging a mere £31.50 a night accommodation including a buffet evening meal and a breakfast!!!!!

My experience has been charming, on arrival the friendly receptionist Mitchell greeted me with a smile and friendly information on the room and restaurants, whilst she was giving me my information I overheard somebody complaining about the car parking charge (which is clearly stated in the hotel information on the website!). I was pleasantly surprised when I got to my room, it wasn't huge but it was more than adequate for one person, two sets of towels, TV, wifi and spotlessly clean, lovely and warm and all in all pleasant enough to be homely and with more than enough hot water for a long hot soak in the bath.

The restaurant maitre'd Jackie is obviously very experienced, welcoming and helpful. The food was buffet service and again more than adequate with plenty of choice to have a good 3 course meal if you want one. The chefs and waiting staff were also very efficient and friendly. A couple of evenings the restaurant was very busy but that is only testament to the amount of people that come here time and again, it seems mostly with coach trips or large groups. If you don't want the throng of the main restaurant then you are able to upgrade to the premier Victoria restaurant which is much quieter for only £5.

The hotel is in a great location if you want to explore, only 10 minutes walk from the leas lift, the town and the seafront walk to the white cliffs, each in a different direction.

All in all my stay has been very pleasant, made more so by Mitchel, James, Liam, Kim and Joey the fab reception staff, I hope the management of this hotel know what great staff they have from reception, bar and restaurant and the housekeeping. Pat on the back to you all and thankyou

Victoria (room1510)

Room Tip: If there is a noise like the sound of a helicopter landing in your room, its the radiator, turn it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The smell of damp in the corridor to our room was our welcome to this hotel. Once in our room we had a sea view but only after we washed the windows which were filthy. There were lots of holes in the ceiling and the room was very tired and would certainly benefit from a coat of paint. The bathroom fittings needed deep cleaning or replacing.Meal times were self service and total chaos without enough seating for all the diners so people were walking round the room with their meals to try to find a seat. however the food was plentiful and a wide selection was available. I would not visit this hotel again and would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Burstin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.