We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, tired in places, would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Burstin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Burstin Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Burstin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value, tired in places, would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our hotel rooms was basic but satisfactory and clean. Staff were generally helpful and polite. All you can eat dinner and breakfast buffet with a good range of food alternatives. Suprised there was an extra charge for the fitness centre and the swimming pool though. Hotel was "tired" in places regarding decoration, but at the price it was fine. Evening entertainment was quite good.

Would I stay again? Yes - Fair value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    558
    563
    326
    504
See reviews for
332
1,001
88
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hipperholme, null, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

i booked all inclusive 2 night trip with national holidays which included 3 hour free bar each evening but i heard from someone who had been two weeks previous that this was not now the case you just got 4 free drnks a night and not the 3hour free baron on hearing this i contacted national holidays who said it was new legilation that came into force on the 12th january wich ment they could not provide that now.but they are still selling holidays with 3 and 5 hours free bar, a friend telephoned about the same issue and were told it was the hotel chain that had altered the conditions this is all very confusing

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittingbourne, kent United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Our entire trip to the burstin lasted less than an hour, our room smelt of smoke and our friends room of cat pee, i wouldnt let animals stay in this hotel let alone people.

Room Tip: a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This large hotel is great, not 5 star by any means but free parking, entertainment, DBB and bingo all for £50 for 2 adults and a child who could complain.Tatty in places but serves the purpose well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh on sea
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just had a Sunday promotion at Burstin Folkestone for £65 we enjoyed dinner 4courses + free bottle of wine bed and breakfast We took the premier deal about £15 dearer than standard room but well worth it pleasant room looking over harbour and across to France.Food was excellent buffet style in the premier Victorian Restaurant staff courteous and helpful it was a pleasant stay and good value look out for their deals.

Room Tip: Go for premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Burstin Hotel. We were fortunate enough to have a room that overlooked the harbour which was wonderful, & we were blessed with lovely weather during our stay. The restaurant offered a lovely selection of food & plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

stayed at this hotel for a night was nice hotel rooms were little dated but clean and comfy.hotel had free parking which was good as you defo needed a car as isnt that much around it but was a good based to travel futher a field.night time entertainment was brill loved it was a great cheesey night.breakfast was nice and good choice. i think for the price it is you cant realy complain not the most modern but comfy all the same.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Burstin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.