We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wards Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Wards Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Wards Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wards Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Folkestone
midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Made to feel welcome by everyone at the Hotel. Our room was of good size ,clean and comfortable. The Hotel is undertaking to upgrade all rooms so other rooms may not be of the same standard.The restaurant offers a good range of choices and on 2 days a week also offers a Pan Asian menu, which we tried. The food was of exceptional quality. It was seved in pleasant surroundings by helpful attentive staff.
My only gripe about the whole of our stay was the poor selection of wines
I recommend the Hotel to all but the most infirm (no lift ).
l

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

When we walked round to the main entrance from the car park, the garden was a bit overgrown, there was an elderly woman sat "rocking " by the main entrance. .....did wonder if we had come to the right place!!
Situation of hotel is great, plus added bonus of off road parking a real bonus. In the middle of refurbishment......so looks a bit run down, though some rooms recently decorated but not to a good standard.
We stayed for one night ..b and b, and were left on our own in the hotel from 4pm onwards, with no contact details in case of any problems.
Previous reviews mention a Jacuzzi bath....which on our arrival we found was not working.....very sad! There was no notice for the guests to say the Jacuzzi was out of order. Having said all this the room was spotlessly clean, and the bed linen immaculate, lovely white towels and all the soaps, shower gels etc. The dining room was cold at breakfast though the breakfast was hot, but no kippers!!...very sad.
We had a good sleep, nice and quiet hotel.
We do feel we would stay at Wards again, the choice of accommodation in Folkestone is not good.

Room Tip: We slept well,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I can highly recommend Wards Hotel. We walked from Folkestone Central station to the hotel which is situated on a stunning road on the West Side of town. I stayed with friends for the weekend and found Wards to be the perfect location, a very short walk from the beach. The staff were very welcoming, the chef told us that he used to work at The Hilton Park Lane and this showed in the quality of food - which was superb and good value for money. The downstairs part of the hotel is modern chic and the upstairs rooms are spacious and quaint in their old fashioned chintz style. The owner told us that is he is planning to reburish every room. Folkestone is a great place to visit, the lanes are filled with lovely artisan shops and cafes. We will definitely going back to Wards for another weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is definitely recommendable. I stayed there with friends and had a fabulous weekend all round. There is good parking space. Staff were welcoming, food was excellent, rooms comfortable and spacious. We were able to walk to the seafront and go exploring from Wards hotel. It is also perfect for staying if you are off through the channel the next day. Very reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is in the best location - the west end - close enough to walk from the station but also really close to the sea front on a lovely road. It's large, maybe ten rooms, a bar and restaurant with great food - the breakfast is great and dinner was lovely - the owner told us the chef was from the Park Lane Hilton and you can tell. The food is great. It was my first time in Folkestone and it's really fun anch chic and the staff really helped us out with places to visit, really nice cafes, galleries etc. The lanes in town and really worth walking through. .The owner told us the place is being refurbished so we're planning to go back in June. The staff are lovely, the location is great, great service, nice room, wifi, all good. Great value for money.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor - really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went there on recommendation from friends, throughly enjoyed the food. The service was good and the staff very friendly. Would surely recommend it. Very resonably priced. All in all an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltern am See, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my family from 20 to 21 April 2013. The first thing I was looking for was off-street parking, which none of the cheaper hotels in Folkestone seems able to offer. This was no problem at Wards. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped (modern TV sets, bathroom fittings, etc.). They were also extremely clean - couldn't find a speck of dust anywhere! What particularly impressed all of us was the friendliness of the staff. We had a four-year-old boy with us - in many hotels, he would just be a pain in the neck, but at Wards they treated him very courteously. The prices were extremely reasonable and breakfast was included. The Asian food that we had for our evening meal was very tasty indeed. We will definitely be staying at Wards again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wards Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wards Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 39 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wards Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wards hotel is a spacious detached Edwardian Property. As a family run hotel, we recognise varied needs of our guests from business travellers, to touring holiday makers. Wards Hotel was built in 1901 as part of the Lord Radnor Estate. All rooms are on the first or second floor. We have rooms suitable for family accommodation - for your convenience we can offer you a cot, a highchair and children's meals. We also have a free on site car park. Our A La Carte menu offers a wide of range of international dishes and a selection of vegetarian meals. Coffee and liquers can be served in the lounge after your meal. Our bar is equipped with a variety of wines, Scotch whiskies and non-alcoholic beverages. For a quick menu meal, you might like to choose from our bar menu with traditional favourites such as French baguettes, toasted sandwiches and pizzas. Wards hotel is ideally situated within close proximity of the M20 Motorway (0.21 miles), Harbour Ports (2-8 miles)and Channel Tunnel (2 miles), Wards is ideally situated for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wards Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wards Hotel & Restaurant Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wards Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.