We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stay2a

Stay2a
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stay2a to your Saves list
Stay2a
2a Bouverie Road West, Folkestone CT20 2RX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Wisbech
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for the weekend to see friends and see the Red Arrows display. There are 3 rooms - we were in Burlesque so called because of the wallpaper pattern. The room was a good size very well laid out and furnished and the bed very comfortable. It has tea/coffee facilities and a good quality TV with a large range of channels - free wifi good strength also. The breakfast was faultless with choice and quantity to suit even the most discerning palate. We ate in the restaurant below in the evening and had an outstanding meal and a sweet from the sweet trolley - about a dozen choices all home made. Again the quality and amount was very good. The staff were, without exception, polite, well knowledged and helpful.

Room Tip: Nothing to choose all very good - noisy seagulls is the only downer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
78
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for 1 night on our way to France and arrived just in time to enjoy a wonderful meal in Paul's Restaurant before our stay in a fantastic room. Paul and Penny were very hospitable and obviously work very hard to achieve the standard they deserve. Will definitely book again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stay2A looked great on the web as a 'night before' our Eurotunnel journey. When we got there - it was packed, and full of energy downstairs. Upstairs, our boutique style room was just lovely, with lots of little touches that made it a sanctuary. And the small gesture of a welcoming glass of wine - thank you Paul.

Breakfast the next day was fulsome and individually prepared.

We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Like most we were staying one night prior to the tunnel, we were on route to Holland. Parking was a little bit of a problem, on arrival we found nowhere to park at the front. On making enquiries we were directed around the back via a narrow alleyway. We had a van, and I could just squeeze it into the remaining space which was between two sets of garages besides the bins & rubbish. There are three rooms but I only saw two parking spaces. The three rooms are all extremely well decorated, and of a really high standard. The temper mattress was really comfortable and the owner should be proud of the quality of the room. We stayed in "Walk in the Park", and although at the front, overlooking the main street, we were not bothered by noise. Now the hopefully constructive criticism. For me the pillows were a little soft, though my wife didn't agree, so that is purely a personal view. I also think the quality of the toilet paper was not in keeping with the rest of the room. It will seem that we were a little stupid, but there is no ceiling lighting, and we didn't work out that the switch by the side of the door was for the bedside lights, so we had no bedside lighting. Also, the Television instructions didn't make sense to us, nor to the staff who were there. On talking to those staying in the other two rooms, they were not able to work the TV either. It might be a good idea to have a little folder with instructions rather than the card that is used at the moment. The owner was away, and needs to ensure that the staff are aware of how things work in case they are asked. We went down to dinner in the evening, and the door from the stairs to the restaurant was closed, so we had to go outside, down the side of the building and through the front door. This may not seem a problem, but if it was raining, it means you have to put hats & coats on when it should not be necessary as you are eating in the same building as you are sleeping. One further thing is that the fire notice on the rear of the door was hand drawn, and looks unprofessional. On saying all that, we would definitely stay there again, and the things I mention are small tweaks that would ensure a perfect stay. Breakfast was very good, and the staff were very attentive and friendly. Now the bad bit. We ate dinner in the restaurant on the evening we stayed, and it turns out the Wednesday ( the evening of our stay) Thursday and Sunday is the chefs' nights off. My wife and I both ordered Fillet, and I have an allergy to pepper and asked for mine without seasoning. When they arrived they were not fillet steaks, but were rump medallions which were also on the menu. I believe that the staff also new they were not fillet, as they offered a free round of drinks. I am not sure if this was a genuine mistake, or if the fillets were pre seasoned during prep, so they couldn't give me one, and so my wife had to have rump also, but this spoilt an otherwise great stay. I had ordered the fillet as I had seen someone else have it and it looked really great. Perhaps I should have complained at the time, but I am British and we don't do that ! My other slight worry was the 70's sweet trolley: How long had the cream filled cakes and desserts been sitting on that trolley? Were they fresh today or had they been sat a couple of days?

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are of very high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to France. A few miles from the Channel Tunnel, it is the ideal spot to “recharge your batteries” before heading to France. It is without any doubt an equally perfect base to visit the surrounding areas.
There are 3 “boutique style” rooms, all different and exquisitely decorated. We stayed in the “Love Letters” room – good size, comfy bed – crisp linen, small but well-appointed bathroom with luxury toiletries. Besides the coffee and tea making facility within the room, there is an expresso/cappuccino/coffee machine on the landing, a basket of fresh fruit and a selection of soft drinks – all complimentary.
We had dinner in their restaurant “Paul” and again it was a winner. Excellent choices from their weekly menu or a la carte. We had a combination of both and it was just all delicious. Great service too.
Breakfast was scrumptious and cooked by Paul. It was not the typical egg/bacon/sausage …. Instead we had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, egg benedicte/florentine, tropical fruit salad with yogurt. Just perfect to prepare us for our long drive through France.
Friendly owners, Paul is very sociable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

An overnight before the tunnel, great rooms and excellent food. The breakfast was wide ranging and very good quality. The dinner was top notch. Rooms are well appointed, newly decorated and contemporary. We would stay again. My only tiny gripe is that the parking is shared with the solicitor next door and not available much before 6pm or after 9am

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stay 2 a is a lovely place to stay, we stayed in the burlesque room! All very clean and modern. Paul and Penny are lovely hosts make you feel very welcome. The breakfast and evenings meals are brilliant probably the best food we've ever had staying in a hotel, excellent will def be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay2a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay2a

Address: 2a Bouverie Road West, Folkestone CT20 2RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay2a provides stylish “Boutique Hotel” style guest accommodation in the heart of Folkestone, Kent. Choose from three designer themed kingsize ensuite bedrooms offering luxury and individuality. Fully inclusive Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stay2a reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay2a Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay2a, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.