We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salisbury Folkestone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Salisbury Hotel to your Saves list
Salisbury Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-32 Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Salisbury Folkestone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was travelling to France the next day and my friend found this hotel,
it was good value for money and close to the Chunnel.
I didn't like the room it wasn't my cuppa, but the food was alright in the morning and came inclusive of the cost.
The sound of the sea was very nice and the location was excellent.
I managed to park outside which was good, it is usually a pain anywhere.
I would recommend it on a tight budget or value for money.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. the rooms are massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    31
    34
    71
See reviews for
42
62
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending a dinner dance in a hotel down the road. The building is wonderful and has great character and the location is fantastic BUT there is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness. It doesn't matter how old the building or furnishings are. They should be clean and this is something The Salisbury is very much lacking. The whole place needs a complete deep clean and If I was in charge I would definitely sack the cleaners and get someone in who knew what they were doing. Disgusting.
The corners of the room were filthy and full of cobwebs, same as the the walls. We actually had a cobweb from the mirror to the adjoining wall. The shower curtain was full of mould and the manky blankets on the bed need to be binned.
Sort it out Salisbury Hotel......This could be a wonderful place

Room Tip: Go somewhere else......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Calais for one night. Room was huge and our friend's room had 3 double beds in it, so we could have all stayed in the one room. Room was cold all the time and carpet very worn. Only sheets on the bed, no duvet. Bathroom clean but dated. The biggest issue for us was what happened during the night! The room was eerie and I was woken up at 2.30 feeling freezing cold and unable to move. The mirror kept misting up for no reason and at one point my phone flew off my chest when I was lying still. I just felt there was something in the room. Can only find one reply by the hotel manager to a review back in May 2012 that mentions a ghost in this hotel. I'm not usually one who would believe in all this stuff but something was definitely not right! I'd be really interested to know if anyone else has had a similar experience here.

Room Tip: Avoid room 206 and 3rd floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights, the second because I enjoyed the first so much! The staff are really friendly and personable, every query was answered with ease. I had a small room which was lovely and warm with plenty of hot water in the en suite shower...all for £22.00 for bed and breakfast. The breakfast was lovely and set me up well for househunting. The property is beautiful with loads of period features and on the Leas with views over the sea. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, felt totally at home and as a single woman travelling alone was made very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

hotel staff from reception to kitchen were exceptional but sadly our room was too big to keep warm.Lighting was very dull and table lamp was on the floor.A beautiful building but in dire need of a good clean and decoration, but thanks to sharon and gentleman in restaurant for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: rooms at front have a lovely view across the channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have stayed here a few times recently and will be again. The place is friendly with very helpful staff. The rooms are big and spacious but dated and in need of freshening up. The beds are very comfortable and the en-suites are big and well designed.
The coffee in the rooms is a let down as they use cheap ones when i know nescafe or similar isn't much more so i think they should have a rethink on this policy.
The breakfast is excellent.
All in all well worth a stay as it's friendly, cheap and very good location. downsides are the poor quality coffee dated decor and lack of wifi in the rooms although it does work in the bar area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The service was friendly at reception but thats as far as the good experiences go!

The room and decor was so dated it was creepy! Never thought it possible but the room was too spacious. Its a really good job that I didn't spend much time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 30-32 Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Salisbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.