We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guildhall

The Guildhall
42 The Bayle, Folkestone CT20 1SQ, England
01303 251393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 146 Restaurants in Folkestone
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are a fan of real ale then this is the must visit pub in Folkestone. Stuart prides himself on serving up the perfect pint and his range of beers is well thought out as he will always have an ale to suit every fan.

Gilly also knows how to run a great kitchen and her market fresh fish is a treat every day. If you enjoy a Sunday roast you won't be disappointed here and if you fancy a snack try Gilly's three cheese ploughmans.

When the sun is out The Guildhall is the perfect place to sit outside as the front garden is a sun trap and the wind is kept well at bay.

Visit The Guildhall - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Its a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food excellent service and fantastic value for money if you live or are visiting Folkestone I would strongly recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Warm Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We ate Sunday roast dinner today, choice of 4 meats, roast and new potatoes, so many different types of fresh vegetables all cooked perfectly, good portions, fish also offered and then homemade dessert with choice of custard, ice cream or cream,along with their normal dessert options.
I have eaten there before and its always been very good food.
Staff very welcoming and friendly
Landlord seen to help elderly lady to her waiting taxi, nothing seems too much trouble for them to ensure everyone made to feel like they are special.
I would recommend the Guildhall to everyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT PUB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Dog friendly provided dog biscuits and water, great food and wine, welcoming hosts and locals - such attention to detail that even the mayonnaise, vinegar sachets etc come with scissors!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have visited the Guildhall several times with family, and it has become my grandparents favourite place to eat when they come over.

Staff are friendly and familiar, and make a point to make you feel like an old friend even though I think we only go a couple times a year. I've seen staff there take particular care with their older customers, ordering taxis and seeing them home safe.

The food is simple but very good, traditional British fare. The menu includes roast options, burgers and scampi, and dessert options include jam roly-poly with custard and other traditional treats. Food comes quickly, is always hot and tastes fresh and portions are generous.

The ale selection is limited, but what they have is always good.

A great place to go with older relatives as well as children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guildhall also viewed

 
Folkestone, Kent
Folkestone, Kent
 

Been to The Guildhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guildhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.