We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one for the bucket list!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romany Dreams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Folkestone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romany Dreams
Save
You added Romany Dreams to your Saves list
Deepdene, Belsey Lane | Ewell Minnis, Folkestone CT157EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Folkestone B&B and Inns
tunbridge wells
1 review
“one for the bucket list!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A one night stay celebrating an unmentionable birthday!
Lorraine and Holly made us so welcome, without being at all intrusive.
The wagon is a dream, so very authentic and cosy. Frosty outside (November) but we were as warm as toast.
A very peaceful, hugely charming place, very much a 'time out of time' experience. Get off the wheel for a couple of days and hide away in this lovely little piece of Romany history.
Don't take too much'stuff'. Everything you need is there and space is of the essence.

Definitely one for the bucket list.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked up a weekend stay in the gypsy wagon as a suprise birthday treat for someone special! I found it on google and was a little nervous booking something so random! Im glad I did! it was a beautful weekend away, we were met on arrival by Lorraine and a cosy warm wagon:) I had pre ordered a picnic which was brilliant, filled with many delioius home made goods, it rained on the saturday so we ate it in the chalet behind the wagon, which was equally as perfect.. We also opted for the homemade meal for the Saturday night, no complaints there and would definatly recommend, as it just adds to the whole experience! All the little thoughful touches made the weekend so memorable! I would say try and preplan things to do during the day in advance... we did some ghost hunting with ghosthuntingevents ... and had a trip to dover castle.. both great fun and completed a perfect weekend! Thanks again to Lorriane! Smiles from two happy customers:D
Eles & James XX

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My Husband booked The Romany Dreams B&B as a surprise for our first wedding anniversary. On our arrival we were met by our lovely hostess Lorraine and Holly the dog who were both very welcolming. The wagon is absolutely beautiful and very clean with lots of authentic touches. The bed is comfortable and cozy with gorgeous bed linen. As other reviews have mentioned, the bed is 3/4 size but my Husband, who is 6ft 2in, slept fine. The chalet directly behind the wagon is perfect to use as a base. Once again, everything is spotless and Lorraine's attention to detail means that everything you need is provided from a continental breakfast to cotton buds. We were lucky with the weather and so could make use of the outside cooking area by the wagon. My Husband loved cooking on the open fire and because Lorraine's property is fairly secluded and surrounded by rolling countryside you don't feel like you're annoying the neighbours with the smoke. We can also highy recommend the picnic hamper that Lorraine prepares for her guests. It's very good value and is stuffed full of fresh food with some tasty homemade goodies as well. It's a proper wicker hamper with everything you need including pretty linen napkins and a tablecloth! Lorraine works so hard to make sure that you're comfortable and that you have everything you need. Nothing is too much trouble and she obviously sets herself very high standards. Her hospitality is second to none and she and her family have created a unique and fun B&B that provides a lovely insight into the Romany lifestyle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

we arrived very late to the site! but was made to feel very welcome and our hosts were most accommodating! food was great! would advise! camp fire made for a great romantic atmosphere! even in the pouring rain! actual accommodation could not fault it for all amenities and cleanliness! absolutely spotless!!! just for the experience you all should try! very peaceful! and a nice way to unwind with a twist! thanks again max and mark! xxxx

Room Tip: just stay at the romany dreams the experience is next to none
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here 14th July for one night, a rare 24 hours away on our own. Lorraine has created a wonderful experience, it's peaceful; beautiful wagon and surrounding area; fun; quirky so relaxing and personal. We had picnic basket which was a welcome sight upon arrival and it was fantastic. Unfortunately for us the british summer remained hidden but we did get 2.5 hours of dry weather and went for a long walk in the surrounding countryside. The wagon is wonderful; bed is a 3/4 so it's cosy but that is all part of the experience, it has the queenie stove and is full of character. Adjacent to the wagon is your own chalet which is stocked with breakfast choices, tea and coffee making facilities and microwave; a good size shower room with everything; deodrant; shampoo; showergel; face wipes; razors... you name it Lorraine has thought of everything, it's true you just need to bring a toothbrush. Beside the wagon is a traditional cooking pot / campfire which you can use, we didn't due to weather but it's such a nice touch; you feel so unrestricted here and that is what makes it so good. This really is your own little sanctuary for a few days, Lorraine has got that just right, her attention to detail is amazing and you will want for nothing. I forgot tissues and looked around and they were there, I forgot my umbrella and there was one in the wagon, it's that kind of place. I've not stayed anywhere like this for a long time; you get the whole package, a wonderful experience! Thank you Lorraine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Staying at Romany dreams was a fantastic experience . The gypsy wagon was cosy and adorable, with a pull out double bed which I found very comfy to sleep in, however if you are a bit taller than 5ft 8 you may find the wagon bed a bit short to sleep in as my hubby was 5,10 and felt a bit squished. The location was great close to Dover and the owners were soo welcoming . We were very well looked after, made to feel at home. The wagon had its own annexe at the back with basic kitchen for our breakfasts ,tea ,coffee etc and a good sized shower room with own towels , showergel and shampoo all ready for use . We had our evening dinner there made for us and was blown away by the huge portions of food it was delicious! ...be sure to have an empty stomach!. The campfire was great fun it was a bit windy so we did smell of smoke after sitting by the fire , there are pots and pans to cook the tradditional way my only flaw is I diddnt bring the marshmallows!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, southampton United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

had the best time ever,great place to stay with great people.has the best of both worlds mod cons as well as the wagon.everything you want for a quiet get away.you would be hard pushed to get the welcome,food,picnic,or comfort any where else.great views but still with the privacy that you need.the wagon and chalet have everything that you need to make your stay great.if you do go then do book an evening meal,it was amazing.thank you at romany dreams for the best break i have ever had.would deffinatley recomend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romany Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romany Dreams

Address: Deepdene, Belsey Lane | Ewell Minnis, Folkestone CT157EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gypsy Bed and Breakfast experience, staying in our luxuriously refurbished 2 berth cosy genuine Gypsy Wagon, which has a Queenie Wood burning stove and radiator. Tea and coffee making facility. Snuggle up in the 3/4 size pull out bed, with radio, cards and dominos provided.We are located in the beautiful rolling countryside of the Alkham Valley Nr Canterbury in Kent, 10 minutes from the M20 and 5 minutes from the A2. Our Gypsy Wagon B&B is situated in our picturesque garden nestled in the Kent countryside, overlooking open fields with woodlands close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romany Dreams Folkestone, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romany Dreams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.