We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cheriton High Street, Cheriton Parc, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
surrey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Utilitarian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights, and whilst the accommodation was exactly as described the beds and pillows were far from comfortable and the duvet had been crammed into a cover which meant the duvet didn't cover the bed properly. Otherwise the staff were helpful and the inclusive breakfast was a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear jgsurrey,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you liked our breakfast service and our staff were helpful during your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is our regret that the beds and pillows were not very comfortable. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    322
    147
    45
    25
See reviews for
205
312
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The proximity to the tunnel is amazing. You drive along the back roads, down a slip road and into the check out lanes within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel. The Hotel is up to the normal Express standard in its decor and setting but what is extraordinary is that it has no European influence anywhere, amazing when its only 40 minutes away from France. The breakfast can be taken from 6.00 am without any extra charge perfect for early getaways. However stay away from the Great-fruit which strips any sensitivity protection away from the teeth. It is also worth checking booking direct with the Hotel rather than HIE central bookings as they often have special deals like a free bottle of wine when eating in the restaurant.

Room Tip: 3rd floor quite away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sennelager, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

we stayed here for a short stay in folkestone. The room was spacious even though my son had the pull out sofa bed.The staff were extremely helpful with all our queries and problems. The location is excellent for access to the tunnel and is also not too far away from the ferry port. Shops just a round the corner and a superb gastropub a stones throw away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Staff friends in the bar area getting obnoxiously drunk.language awful form rowdy friends and staff, staff outside smoking every 5 minutes,

Night porter was excellent and the only credit to this hotel.STAY THER AGAIN NO THANKS

Room Tip: make sure your heating works
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear cliveellis,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to write feedback of our hotel. I am happy to know that you found our location to be suitable for your needs and you found our rooms to be sufficient for your stay. I would like to apologize if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the service received from our staff. Your comments will be relayed to our staff to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed on business, booked a room with Internet access.
On arrival I found the room very cold and it took a few hours before it warmed up.
The quilt too small for bed and very thin.
On trying to connect to the WIFI I found no networks. I reported to reception and was advised I need to connect using a cable. I informed the receptionist that I did not have one with me, to which I was informed that I would have to get a refund when I booked out.
On booking out a different receptionist advised that the hotel had cables for use. I advised that I had not been given this information. Now all this was fine until I noticed another receptionist pulling her face and rolling her eyes at me. I was extremely annoyed as I left the hotel. On reflection I should of requested to speak to the Hotel Manager about the un-professional receptionist, but I was short on time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ratgirl25,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to give feedback. I am happy to know that you found our location to be recommendable. Please accept my sincerest apology if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the service received from our reception. I will relay your comments to the staff to ensure they can improve their efforts.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

stayed one night before going to france via channel tunnel.
the bed and bedding was terrible. the bedding was far too small. The shower was awlful too it would'nt stay up high and it was cold. stayed there many times before but this time we were disappointed.at check- in given an envelope and given clip board to fill in car registration but no eye contact and speech. i guess the lad had a bad day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed here on a regular basis due to the proximity to the channel tunnel. The receptionist used to be great, but there has been a change of staff.
The last couple of times I've visited the reception / bar staff have had a crowd of friends in the bar area getting obnoxiously drunk.
The one relief is when you realise that they aren't hotel guests and the noise and abusive language is only going to continue until their friends shift finishes.

Room Tip: Eat out, and avoid the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Cheriton Parc, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London. Paris and Brussels only 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.