We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for an overnighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cheriton High Street, Cheriton Parc, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good for an overnighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the previous comments, I was very sceptical as to what I would find, but on arrival I was pleasantly surprised.

Admittedly, rooms are basic, but they are clean and sufficient for an overnight stay before/after using the Channel Tunnel.

Breakfast was simple but adequate. Did not eat dinner at hotel but dined at the Table Table pub diner just one junction den e M20 - a simple 5 minute drive (Burger King also there for those looking for a fast food alternative).

Check in and check out simple and quick. Was at Tunnel within 5 minutes of checkout.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    295
    139
    44
    24
See reviews for
191
293
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here one night before travelling to France, as it is close to the tunnel terminal, easy to find off the M20.
There is an adequate car park but you have to buzz in from a post which is placed at greater than ones arm length, so you have to get out of the car. When the receptionist wakes up, she will open the entrance.
We booked in with minimal fuss and were given the key card and a card with the room number on it pity they weren't for the same room as the card would not work until we realised that 104 was really 107.
The hotel is clean and functional and sparse but the rooms are OK if only staying one night.
The restaurant is close to being a truck stop very uninviting, no table cloths and not laid out with cutlery, which we had to ask for. Orders have to be placed at the bar so it is stand in a queue time.
We were told at check in that there was only table bookings for 8:30pm but there was no one in the restaurant when we got there, we had a long day and would have appreciated an earlier booking but this was refused, why I don't know.
The breakfast was a little better with the usual choices.

Room Tip: Eat some where else and avoid plastic food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here one night before going to Germany. We arrived late - which was no problem and were greeted from friendly staff. The room was clean and tidy and was big enough to accommodate 2 dog and 2 adults. The breakfast was good and offered a decent amount of food. Unfortunately the "head waiter" was rude and couldn't some how open his mouth to say "excuse me", instead he just badged into my wife without saying a thing.

Apart from that, very good hotel and perfect really before geting onto the eurotunnel. They is also a tesco nearby, which was very useful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks.England
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
877 helpful votes 877 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Secure parking,good location for the Chunnel,friendly reception,quick check-in, comfortable room, good shower with piping hot water, tea/coffee in room,all for £63,including buffet breakfast for two.pre-booked on their website.
A really good start to our trip to France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed after a long harrowing cross UK journey before using the tunnel. Comfortable and clean, reasonable breakfast. Very good value for money. My newspaper was missing and the receptionist dashed out to the supermarket to get me a copy.
The only downside was the internet was not working. Since I only book hotels that promise good internet because I have to run my online business when on the move, this was extremely annoying. It also took a good hour of mucking around with settings and locations before it was established beyond doubt that the internet was kaput. This is the third time Holiday Inn have let me down over internet access. It's about time they realised the internet is as important to business travellers as a good night's sleep and food. Makes me very wary of booking with them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here on way to France on Saturday 22nd September.Booked a special Pet package as we were travelling with our two labradors. However no sign of any extras for the dogs and evening meal which we collected from downstairs to eat in our room was a bit of a let down. Hotel well situated for chunnel .Stayed at holiday Inn before elsewhere and feel a bit disappointed with this experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear claychalk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Easily found off junction 12 of the M20 and less than 10 minutes from Eurotunnel. A Tesco store is close for last minute shopping and for fuel. Clean and tidy room. Bar not cheap and food a litttle " plastic " with not much choice. Buffet breakfast is though a little better. However paid £90 for room, a little on the steep side I feel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Cheriton Parc, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London. Paris and Brussels only 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.