We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but where did you find your batman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant

The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant
37-41 Roydhouse, Shelley | Three Acres Hotel & Restaurant, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
+44 1484 602606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 411 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $151
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food but where did you find your batman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Three Acres for lunch, for a start, and we've been going for over 35 years we were not greeted when we went in , very unusual, so we made our way to the bar where we stood for a few minutes before the barman arrived. He made no eye contact at all and when we said we wanted a table for two he asked if we'd booked and when we said no he guided us to the chart of tables near the door , took an age to look through it, it didn't look very full to me , and gave us, very off handedly a choice of two tables, although the place was nearly empty and not likely to fill up. Not a smile or a friendly word, not what we expect at the 3 Acres. to his credit he fixed us up with a drink fairly quickly and thereafter the service, food and staff were excellent. This person needs retraining , he's letting you all down. As far as I could see a smile never passed his lips and his customer service skills were zilch. Apart from him it was the usual enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    129
    65
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“High quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

For several years this has been one of the best restaurants in and around Huddersfield. The setting is stunning - the views great, even in winter. More importantly, the food and service is high quality and the atmosphere welcoming.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I had lunch on the Bank Holiday Monday. Normally we have dinner here so lunch was a nice change and a chance to try a different menu.
We started with Vine ripened tomato soup with garlic croutons, basil and creme fraiche. Very tasty, nice and simple; we both felt if we had done this - my wife being something of a soup expert - we would have been delighted.
Mains of the rotisserie cooked Chicken with goose fat wedges (delicious) was simple but lovely. Well cooked and lovely rubs (piri piri and garlic and lemon).

A really nice lunch, not over faced, well served and well cooked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Quality of food is always exceptional - it is pricier than most for the type of food it offers however the portion sizes and the quality is excellent as is the service. The tables can be a little cramped in the bottom of the older end of the restaurant/pub and therefore you can hear your neighbours conversation however we go on a regular weekly basis and enjoy it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food excellent and no sight of kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a very pleasant evening with lovely food and cosy surroundings.

Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

We just turned up on a Saturday evening and only had to wait 25 mins to get our table, which was fine because the beer is very good!

I'm not anti children, but it was nice not to have children running around the restaurant.

All round, very impressed and would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.