We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit .... Won't be the last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant

The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant
37-41 Roydhouse, Shelley | Three Acres Hotel & Restaurant, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
+44 1484 602606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 411 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $151
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“1st visit .... Won't be the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The menu is excellent.....i was spoilt for choice. The place is quirky but interesting. ITS THE ONLY PUB IVE BEEN IN IN YORKSHIRE WITH A HUMIDOR...HOW POSH IS THAT ;-)
The staff were attentive without being annoyingly so.
The food was delicious.
They have got just about everything right....teensy weensy gripe .... Queuing to pay. Why no card machine brought to table and no facility to leave tip when paying by card...your staff are missing out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    129
    65
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“let down again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

let down again, my wife and i went to the three acres last saturday and were let down by dirty linen raw food and very slow service, but we put it down to a very busy restaurant , so we went with family and friends this saturday and it had got worse the table was in the window and a freezing cold draught coming through the windows so the lady's got cold at the table so we moved our self after the table away from the window had left, we waited over 70mins between our starter and main course the service was so slow we sat down at 7.30 and left the table at 11.30 the worst thing was my wife asked the waiter to make sure there was no chill in her food as she is very sick if she eats any, and guess what the onion rings were made with chill batter. my wife and i have been using the three acres for more then 20 years and i am sorry to say they are under staffed with poorly trained staff and living off a good name.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule, Portugal
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“"Going down hill"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the best by a long way years ago,two visits in the last month both very disapointing. The restaurant is busy and they just can't cope,1.5 hours bewteen the starter and the main,20 mins to get a coffee,so slow! the food is good but the staff just don't listen,I asked for onion rings as a side order,then told the staff please no chilli in anything as I am alergic to it,the onion rings had chilli in the batter,not expecting this I took a bite and the rest of my dinner was spoilt ! its done so well and its full now, but its service has deminished beyond a joke and its riding on its previous reputation,not just a bad day the previous visit I sent back my chilli infused food and its replacement wasnt cooked through,so I left it,no one asked why. Iwas fed up so left,Its such a shame when this happens covers more important than quality,the ladies wash room was full of uncomplimentary diners!! so it wasnt just us!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Husbands 50th birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having visited the Acres on many occasions & really enjoyed the experience.
We decided to celebrate my Husbands 50th Birthday(of which he wasn't looking forward to).
We hired the Tasting room for a private party of 20 people.
On arrival staff were very attentive & throughout the evening.
The food was excellent as usual, staff couldn't do enough for us.
We had a thoroughly wonderful evening the ambiance of the room was second to none,staff were fantastic & as I've said the food and wine as always was superb.
I would Iike to say a very big thank to all staff for making his day a memorable one.
Can't wait for the next celebration.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over priced and over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Over priced and over rated. I'm sure people just enjoy looking at the photos of the visits by celebs, must be old photos!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.