We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grappolo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grappolo
2 Water Street, Lockwood, Huddersfield HD4 6EJ, England
01484 513783
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 374 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: $14 - $71
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a great place to eat, I've been here on several occasions including my 21st birthday, work xmas do and hired the hole of the upstairs. The food is delicious, i would highly recommend the carbonara or the pizzas! They are well known for making a fuss on peoples birthdays which is great fun, there is always a fab atmosphere and is normally pretty busy but this shows that it is a good place to eat! They even made me a pizza extra soft when i first got my braces on so it was easier for me to eat! Great service! X

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    43
    25
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Excellent restaurant, excellent food, I have been here on a number of occasions and have never faulted it, the staff are attentive and very helpful. Some reviews have written that it is like a zoo and always very busy and crowded but this is just testement to how popular it is, although it is busy most nights it is usually a very good atmospehere, if it is someone's birthday the staff come out and put a birthday hat on your head and the whole restaurant usually starts singing.

I would go back time and time again and definately recommend it to others, I live in Wakefield now so dont go as much as I used to but it is still a firm favourite.

Blue Cheese sauce is amazing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, but a bit crowded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Absolutely love Grappolos. Have eaten here on many occasions (although realised early on that you definitely have to book as it is always busy!). But despite being busy, the service is always very good. The restaurant has a lively atmosphere, although the tables are very closely packed together and the restaurant can be very crowded and noisy - especially if you're unlucky enough to be put on a table in the middle of lots of large parties. However, the staff are always very friendly and the food is excellent. Definitely one of the best restaurants in Huddersfield!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, good service served in clean, tidy zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited last night - we had booked and were lucky to be given a table away from the main entrance and away from most of the large parties in that evening. Getting to the table was like a snake in the board game as the tables were packed so tightly together there was no direct route. care had to be taken to avoid knocking wine glasses off tables as there were only very tiny gaps between the tables. I suspect the large parties had caused a bit of redistribution but it was simply too busy, and way too noisy. It wasn't a case of the parties causing any particular noise, but just that too many folks had been crammed into the place. I could not hear the next but one person to me on our table.

That said, the service as excellent and attentive, the staff were very helpful and polite and the food was really good. All the food was piping hot and well prepared and presented.

I know we have hard economic times but the owners should really look again at how many people they pack in as their reputation wil suffer if people cannot hear their dining partners speak.

I would probably not visit again, especially on a Saturday night when i would go anywhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could not hear myself think!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place serving good food at a good price. My only issues with it is when they are busy the place gets so hot inside and very noisy, and on one occasion it was so loud inside I could hardly have a conversation with my partner sat opposite me. Just could not wait to get out. This was a shame because the food and service were great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grappolo also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Grappolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grappolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.