We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Branch

The Olive Branch
Manchester Road, Huddersfield HD7 6LU, England
+44 (0)1484 844487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 372 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: $21 - $41
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Always lovely food and service. We have been lots of times and the menu is always different with lots of choice. The food never disappoints and the service is always great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    4
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It'll do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Me and my partner visited the olive branch one Saturday evening in julyb
The atmosphere was pleasant and the staff were friendly
I found the food very average and overpriced for what is essentially posh pub grub
Not worth the money but the waitresses and bar staff were extremely pleasant

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My friend had a discount card, so our food was half price which made the meal good value for money, though still not cheap. Had we paid full price it would have been very expensive for a mid-week meal. The starters were visually attractive and tasted wonderful. We shared a Chateaubriand which was cooked to perfection; and the accompaniments were fresh and tasty. The dessert was the best home made ice cream that I've eaten for a long time. The decor was interesting, but the ambience was spoiled by the music...Jazz!! Yuk. On reflection we should have eaten on the outdoor verandah with the wonderful views of the Colne Valley.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A christmas treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Not cheap and the portions are not large but the quality is up amongst the best anywhere. Seriously worth a try but remember not cheap.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a table booked at 8pm and arrived promptly. We asked to sit at our table after a 15 wait. We then had to ask for menus after another 15 minutes after none were issued. When we had decided what we all wanted, we still had to ask for someone to take our order as half an hour had passed. The food was delicious, couldn't fault it. When we had finished our main courses, we again had a delay and had to ask to have a dessert menu and our table cleared. We then had to remind them we hadn't ordered and we still wanted to order dessert.

It wasn't that the place was busy either, they had maybe 6 tables in. We were made to feel like an afterthought and very much forgotten which was a real shame. We arrived at 7:50pm and didn't leave till nearly 11:30pm due to the long waiting periods, not good enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Branch also viewed

Marsden, West Yorkshire
Marsden, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.