We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle View 21/09/2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huddersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle View Guest House
Save
You added Castle View Guest House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   148 Ashes Lane | Castle Hill, Huddersfield HD4 6TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
hull
1 review
“Castle View 21/09/2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble to ensure our stay was first class. Dominik was very helpful and cooked a lovely breakfast for us. Would recommend this place for anyone staying in the area. Nice views from our room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that Domenik looked after you well in our absence.
Andy, Linda & Domenik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
25
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our final day in and around the Peak District before returning home to Shropshire, and we had spent several days at various locations throughout the area. The reception from Dominic at Castle View was warm and friendly, and everything about the accommodation was finished to a high standard. The view from our bedroom was second to none - we could see clearly across the whole of Huddersfield to the peaks on the far side of the valley. As the room faced towards the West, it was an excellent spot to watch the sun set in the evening and view the twinkling lights of Huddesrfield as darkness fell. Breakfast was excellent, and we took some photos in the immaculately-kept garden before we left. We will recommend Castle View to our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
So sorry we didn't get to meet you, however it seems Domenik may be forcing our retirement with all the glowing comments he is getting.
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay in 'The Pennine' room and that Dom looked after you well.
Hopefully we may get to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards
Andy Linda & Domenik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The reason Linda Andy and Dominik have such great reviews is that their hospitality is so genuine and they do everything to accommodate you. This is a family run guesthouse. It is comfortable, clean and very friendly. We stayed with our toddler and they all did their utmost to make her happy and at home. I felt really comfortable there whilst my boyfriend was at work and my baby played in the lovely garden. It felt more like visiting family friends than checking into a hotel. They have been running for 7 years and seem to be finding constant ways to improve, really taking on board people's comments. I'd like to say, we had a really good nights sleep. It was perfectly quiet and our room was also spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Manager at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you Emma for the kind comments.
Lovely having you stay with us.
Best wishes for the future and big hugs to the little princess, better not forget Jason either

Linda, Andy & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight trip to the Huddersfield area and stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast where we were well looked after by Dominic. The room we stayed in was The Ashes which was very nice and had everything we needed. The bathroom just needs a better shower. We enjoyed a great breakfast. This bed and breakfast is in a nice area and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Thank you.

Room Tip: We are light sleepers so would have prefered a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Alan & Linda,
Many thanks for your kind review and comments and so sorry to hear you didn't have a good nights sleep. I'm afraid when its necessary to have the windows open, especially with the current heatwave the traffic noise from our lane can disturb, however when the double glazed units are closed the noise from the lane is minimal.
En-suites and showers are our priority this year having already refurbished 'The Pennine' and 'The Cherry', 'The Ashes' is now the one requiring immediate attention.

Kind regards
Andy, Linda & Domenik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Seven years ago Andy and Linda excelled in accommodating some of our Ruby Wedding guests from London. Our childhood friends were totally thrilled with all the little luxurious details such as the toiletry samples (just like a 5 star hotel) and the quality of the food together with the million dollar views over the countryside and town. Nowadays they could also frolic in the spa! Wild flower meadows await any walkers from the lane opposite leading up to our famous Victoria Tower on top of Castle Hill, an iron-age settlement drawing kite runners and picnicking families today. Almondbury residents take note: This is the spot to house your extra visitors when there is no room in your own house!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for such a kind and enlightening review of our family business and our local area. Catering for local residents and accommodating family & friends has become one of the most enjoyable and satisfying parts of our business, a real pleasure.
As for Huddersfield, keep singing the praises of a hidden gem of a town that we are all proud of.

Best wishes and kind regards.
Andy, Linda & Domenik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband wanted to treat me to a spa break. After much research and several phone calls to Andy and Linda he booked a 2 night stay in Castle View Guest House for me and a friend. Unfortunately our March dates were impossible because of the snow, but Andy & Linda immediately offered alternative dates.
From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome. The many little touches in the rooms made it seem more like a boutique hotel than a guest house and the meals and home-made cakes were delicious. Linda serves generous portions so don’t expect to lose weight!
The beauty treatments were very good (body massage, facial, head massage, manicure & pedicure) and the hot tub was extremely relaxing. Would we go again? Definitely!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My parents and I stayed here for one night to visit my son who is at the Uni.
The welcome, food, rooms and location were all excellent. The delicious evening meal was cooked to perfection, and the attention to detail lovely.
To watch the sun go down and the amazing view turn into a landscape of twinkly lights a real treat!
The rooms were very comfortable and impeccably clean.
We will certainly be staying again and would like to say a big thank you to Andy and Linda for the trouble they and the family took to make our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: The upstairs back bedroom had incredible view of the landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are also delighted that your mother and father enjoyed themselves, please pass on our best wishes to them.
Kind regards
Andy, Linda & Domenik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guest House

Address: 148 Ashes Lane | Castle Hill, Huddersfield HD4 6TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle View Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Castle View Guest House" nestles in the heart of Pennine Yorkshire "Summer Wine Country." An area where scenic beauty, rugged moorland and bustling market towns merge to form what is now more famously known as 'Summer Wine Country'. The guest house is owned and run by Linda & Andy, who in 2004, transformed their family home into the 5 Star, highly accoladed guest accommodation of today. It now boasts spacious en-suite rooms, furnished and tailored with a fine attention to detail. A relaxing guest lounge with cable TV and log burning stove, a coffee and bar lounge for that nightly tipple and a large conservatory dining room for breakfast and evening dinner. Wherever possible only the best local produce is used with meats in particular being sourced from the local award winning farm shop. For that little bit of indulgence to complement your stay, the guest house has a luxury 7 seater Spa Hot Tub. They can also arrange for beauty treatments and hair styling for that special occasion. Easily accessible from the M1 & M62 motorway networks and a gateway to all attractions of Yorkshire & the North of England. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.