We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you are treated like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huddersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle View Guest House
Save
You added Castle View Guest House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   148 Ashes Lane | Castle Hill, Huddersfield HD4 6TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Where you are treated like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Castle View is a warm, friendly guest house well situated near the castle tower in Huddersfield. The Whitelys make your comfort and enjoyment their top priority. From chocolates on the bed, to personalized breakfasts, to helpful advice on your itinerary, this guest house beats all others. We were researching our family ancestry and they opened local doors for us to meet people. I can't say enough about this delightful place. A must-stay on your journey!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Owner/Partner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Chet & Jeannine,
We hope you have had a wonderful time here in the UK and hope your search for roots and ancestry has proved fruitful. It gives us so much pleasure in not only helping people like yourselves but witnessing the satisfaction that such a journey can bring.
Many thanks for the condiment set, it is now taking pride of place on our dinner table.
Please stay in touch and our very best wishes.
Andy, Linda & Domenik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
25
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are looking for a good place to stay near to the Peak District and Huddersfield this is the place.
Very comfortable rooms with all needs catered for(the little touches like chocolates and biscuits in the room) as well as offering evening meals if required
The owners are incredibly friendly and go above and beyond what I would call normal service
A very good place to stay with a huge home cooked breakfast

Room Tip: all the rooms are of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Immediatetly you can appreciate why "Castle View" have a 5 star rating we had a more than comfortable room, it was very clean and fresh with beautiful views, there were many extra's that you would only expect to find at a Hotel. We enjoyed an excellent well cooked breakfast in the prettiest of dining rooms. But most of all it was Yorkshire hospitality at it's very best!! from Linda, Andy, and Dominik our charming hosts.

Sonia & Malcolm
Backford Chester.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

What an absolute find Castle View Guest House is!!! Andy, Linda and Dominik made us so welcome we felt part of a very loving family home. Our room was amazing as was the food both at dinner and breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail around the guest house is second to none. As this break was to celebrate our wedding anniversary the candlelit dinner was such a nice touch and the hot tub surrounded by music and fairy lights was the perfect end to a perfect evening. We cannot recommend Castle View enough and will definitely be back for some more much needed R&R. Well deserved 5* Gold Award. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Chris & Angie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

So comfortable, spotlessly clean, spacious room with everything provided (super views over Huddersfield valleys and beyond - spectacular at night), excellent food, excellent location. What more could we have wanted? Even the weather turned out for the better! The warm Yorkshire hospitality from Andy and Linda is something to be treasured. We can recommend Castle View Guest House without reservation.

Room Tip: 'The Pennine' - room with a view to the north. Quiet, away from road and probably cooler in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle_View_Hudds, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for those really kind comments and it was also our pleasure having you stay with us.
Please, please come back frequently as you seem to have the Midas touch with the Yorkshire weather as we have cloudless skies since your visit.

Many thanks and kind regards

Andy & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Nothing else I can say other than perfect in every way! Amazing food lovely warm and helpful hosts and clean to the point of perfection! I will definatly be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlamdo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just returned to Canada after spending a week at Castle View Guest House and couldn:t of asked for anything better.
Andy and Linda made us feel so welcome it was like visiting old friends.
The accomodations were clean and relaxing and the food was amazing.
The location of the guest house was within easy access to the highway and downtown.
I would recommend Castle View to anyone who needs a place to stay in Yorkshire. We will definitely be back.
Thanks Andy and Linda for all you did for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guest House

Address: 148 Ashes Lane | Castle Hill, Huddersfield HD4 6TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle View Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Castle View Guest House" nestles in the heart of Pennine Yorkshire "Summer Wine Country." An area where scenic beauty, rugged moorland and bustling market towns merge to form what is now more famously known as 'Summer Wine Country'. The guest house is owned and run by Linda & Andy, who in 2004, transformed their family home into the 5 Star, highly accoladed guest accommodation of today. It now boasts spacious en-suite rooms, furnished and tailored with a fine attention to detail. A relaxing guest lounge with cable TV and log burning stove, a coffee and bar lounge for that nightly tipple and a large conservatory dining room for breakfast and evening dinner. Wherever possible only the best local produce is used with meats in particular being sourced from the local award winning farm shop. For that little bit of indulgence to complement your stay, the guest house has a luxury 7 seater Spa Hot Tub. They can also arrange for beauty treatments and hair styling for that special occasion. Easily accessible from the M1 & M62 motorway networks and a gateway to all attractions of Yorkshire & the North of England. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.