We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, my meal last time was better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huddersfield, Northern Tap

Huddersfield, Northern Tap
Northern Taps, Huddersfield, England
01484539295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 372 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice decor, my meal last time was better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Last time I would have given 5/5 for everything, I had the veggie burger and it was honestly amazing.
This time I had mushrooms on toast but the crusts were so hard I couldn't actually get the knife through them! The mushrooms and sauce were really gorgeous, as were the skin on chips. I'll be back but probably won't order the toast again unless I'm at the dentist that week!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    29
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lunch time break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been here a good number of times and each time the service and quality has been great.
My daughters and I like to come here for a sneaky treat at lunch times. Running a coffee shop myself it is lovely to find somewhere where I can relax and unwind with a lovely pot if earl grey.
A firm favourite place of mine now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for lunch last Saturday after seeing the reviews, the food was awesome, I had the ploughmans and absolutely loved it.. plus they serve my favourite drink (passion fruit redkordling). The service was also very good, will deffinately be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had lunch here today with friends and children in tow. The service was efficient, friendly and accommodating, the food honest, good value and tasty. I had the sausage and mash which was unfussy, excellent quality, beautifully presented in a iron dish on a wooden platter. The children had cheese on toast, which was excellent value at £1.50 per portion! The chips were pure perfection, skins on, skinnies served in wooden bowls. My friend ordered mushrooms on toast which were define, and my other friend really enjoyed a home-made burger. This is an excellent, unassuming, traditional Yorkshire establishment serving great, simple quality produce, from a inspiring and original menu. A real gem in Huddersfield town centre.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great place with the best garlic bread iv ever had. Good service and nice atmosphere. Look forward to going here when I'm in yorkshire

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huddersfield, Northern Tap also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Huddersfield, Northern Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huddersfield, Northern Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.