We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maybe expected more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Botafogo Brazilian Grill

Botafogo Brazilian Grill
37 John William St, Huddersfield HD1 1ES, England
01484 535 440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 411 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Botafogo you control the service. Turn your “green/red card ” to green and our chefs will bring you our delicious 7 cuts of meat (including our special meat of the week).As long as your card is green the chefs will keep serving. Whenever you wish to have a break just turn the card to red; and to resume service back to green.To accompany your meat we will bring you : chips, rice and feijao (yummy Brazilian black beans).If you wish to order any other sides you will find them in the premium side dishes section on our menu.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“maybe expected more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having read many reviews we decided to visit. The staff were welcoming, polite and helpful. The early arrival of our side dishes well before any meat meant that they had gone quite cold when the meat arrived.

All the meat was well cooked and very tasty. We never had a wait before more meat arrived. The staff were attentive but not pushy.

Just beware the 'voluntary' service charge included in your bill !!!

Overall it was enjoyable, if expensive and on a personal note I do not like having a 'voluntary' tip included in my bill. It was just lacking that little bit of pzazz for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    52
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique eating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We didn't know what to expect of this place but the reviews were very good so we went for it. It is a family-run restaurant and they and their staff are very warm and welcoming and the atmosphere is relaxed, happy and friendly.

You are given a disc -rather like a beer mat. One side is green - for GO and the other side is red for STOP. As long as you are showing green, the waiter brings all kinds of delicious meats to your table. You just say beforehand, how you like it cooked. We like our meat charred and it came EXACTLY as we like it. I noticed other tables getting rare or medium-rare. First comes the starters : hot dough balls and lamb pancake/pakora-type things. Totally DELICIOUS! Then the meats start: Gammon And you help the waiter scrape off as much as you would lik, by a tool that you are given. After Gammon comes steak, then marinated barbecued chicken thighs, then other meats etc until you turn your card to RED for a rest or a complete stop. Also beautiful accompaniments are brought over. Basically it's all completely delicious and a very unique way of being served. The puddings were great too. It's not cheap at £25 per head plus drinks and tip etc, but it's real quality food and great cooking and you will feel its worth the money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food for meat lovers !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you like meat then this is the place for you... Talk about meat overdose! I left in a meat coma. it was all a little bit mental as when we arrived it took the staff 30 mins to clear our table due to a previous sitting but once we finally got sat down the food was nicely cooked to my liking (All Medium rare and medium) and the service was good !
if you like your meat well done then id go somewhere else.
The idea of the red and green card to say you want more or a rest is a great idea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by a friend, so we booked it for our anniversary meal. We booked online which is always convenient. Upon arrival the lady behind the bar couldn't find our booking and although there were only 4 other couples in the restaurant she pulled two tables apart to sit us by the wall with a wobbly table. Eventually a pleasant waiter came to fix the problem and apologised for the delay. He explained the process and asked how we liked our meats. In theory it all sounded exciting and for £25 a head, I thought we were going to be treated to a feast. Sides were average, meats were bland and unappetising and the chef, miserably kept bringing the same meats out, namely beef - which I don't normally eat. There was no incentive to stay and eat as much as you can to get good value for money. The cheesecake desert however, was divine. For me, the place lacked in ambience and atmosphere and I've ended up booking a 2nd restaurant to make up for it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Meat overdose!! (In a good way).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wow, never been somewhere like this, it's all you can eat but in a nice way, you have a card that is red or green which you put on the end of the table - green means please feed me more meat, red means no more meat (too full up, please give me time for my digestive tract to recover).

We had rump steak, gammon, sirloin, chicken, ribs, sausages. And it all comes with coleslaw and chips.

Now you can see why I call it meat overdose!!

And you also get starters and dessert included.

Extremely good value for around £24.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botafogo Brazilian Grill also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Botafogo Brazilian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botafogo Brazilian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.