We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food&fires but resturant needs a bit of love” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wills O' Nats

Wills O' Nats
Blackmoorfoot Road | Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 5PS, England
(0)1484 850078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 452 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: Steakhouse, English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice food&fires but resturant needs a bit of love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Deceided to have a drive here on sunday.usually go slaithwaite/linthwaite area but was worth it.Had a lovely meal on a quite a busy night.lamb.v.nice and a giant fish and chips you wont go home hungry!.sweet lad served us.well spoken.but lady behind bar seemed a bit stern no smiles on welcome or when going to bar later on.mabe having a bad day :(.food menu prob£1- £2 each more than usual pub prices & carpets could do with sprucing up as resturant area looks old and tired but still a nice warm feel in the pub overall & through to bar area two REAL FIRES makes you look forward to winter.well a bit anyway :) would definatly go again just mabe a warmer welcome at the bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    9
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place to eat at lunchtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here at lunchtime and had the 2 meals for £10 deal. Our 2 year old had veggie sausage from the kids menu. The service was great the staff were friendly and efficient. The food was good and I will be going back as unfortunately we had to rush of as we were late for an appointment so did not get time for dessert!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff not treated well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came up with some friends and was looking to have a lovely quiet meal. The food was of a decent quality however the women who seemed to be in charge began to speak inappropriatly towards the waitress serving us. After the waitress had told us she was immediatly going to return to help us with our drinks order, the lady began to rudely speak to the staff member and tell her this was not acceptable and she used inappropriate language and name calling towards the waitress which was NOT acceptable when she had kindly explained the drinks situation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Service rubbish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a friend come down from newcastle whos off to Australian shortly so we thought we would take him for a meal here I have been before and had a good meal well we orded at 7.45 meal did not come until 8.33 no apologies the staff wete more intrested in talking and fooling about with friends on next table to us this is the first time its ever happend allways had a good meal and service the owners need to sort the staff out and quick will not be going again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2blobs, Owner at Wills O' Nats, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and I am apauled to hear of the terrible service you had on your last visit. Rest assured the people concerned have been made very aware of your comments and I am sure you will not have a repeat performance should you be kind enough to give us another chance.

With regard to your meal, I have checked your order as no meal should take that long. However on this occation there were two problems, 1. Although you could not see it we were exceptionally busy that night as everyone was sitting in the beer garden and 2, one of your orders was fo a pie and as all our food is made from fresh this take approximately 30-35 minutes to prepare and cook. However this does not take away from the fact that you should have been informed at all times and the fact that you were'nt spoiled your visit. I hope the food was worth waiting for when it arrived and that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves however I just wish you had informed us prior to leaving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A lovely pub with beautiful views. Has a nice garden at the back with a childrens play area and plenty of picnic tables. The pub inside is very nice and clean. The food we had was well presented, tasty and reasonably priced. Most of the staff were polite and friendly except the one who served me as a smile and friendly manner was clearly out of the question. If you eat outside you have to take your own plates back into the pub when finished which I think is very poor service but luckily they do bring the food out to you!!!! Can't comment on the ales but plenty of clicky locals around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2blobs, Owner at Wills O' Nats, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leaving a review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your meal. With regard to takin g your plates back, we only ask that you return your plates or inform us that you have finished if you have a starter, so that we can then serve your main meal whilst it is hot. However we are reviewing this practice to see if if there is a better alternative so thank you for bringing it to my attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wills O' Nats also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Wills O' Nats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wills O' Nats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.