We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennine Manor Restaurant

Pennine Manor Restaurant
Scapegoat Hill, Huddersfield, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 411 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely location, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited on a Monday evening and was found a table straight away. The food was good quality from a comprehensive menu. I had crab, lime and chilli fish cakes and grilled steak and my wife had goats cheese with beet root salad followed by duck breast. All was cooked to perfection and served by polite staff. The views over the moors were fantastic and on a nice evening you can see for miles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Pennine Manor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Michaelcr30

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we agree the views are arguably the best in the area. We hope you visit again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Undiscovered Yorkshire Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

From the brilliantly easy online booking system to the moment we drove away after the meal, our whole experience was a complete joy.

We requested a table with a view (they are SPECTACULAR) and mentioned that we were celebrating my father's 65th birthday on the online booking form. As we arrived for our booking our welcome could not have been warmer. My three year old son was treated with equal cheer and was treated like a prince throughout.

We were gently ushered to our table, with a view, and as a lovely thought the table had Happy Birthday sprinkles and a few balloons floating from a centrepiece. My parents thought that they must have known us because of this lovely welcome, rather than this being our first visit. Rather wonderfully, we saw that ALL of their guests were being treated equally well.

The staff were without exception caring, cheerful and extremely professional. The food was from the carvery, the roast meats were perfectly cooked (the roast beef was beautifully pink inside and succulently tender) and the vegetables were tasty with bite. The only personal preference was the roast potatoes were a tad hard and as a BIG part of any roast dinner that's why the food only gets a four out of five for me (picky? Oh well)

As a combination of great value for money, fabulous taste, texture and ambience, I simply cannot fault The Pennine Manor. The service and welcome, however, transcended all of this and is the main reason for me recommending this restaurant so highly and why I shall be returning again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Pennine Manor Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JamieNeil
This must be one of the best reviews I’ve ever read, we are delighted that you chose us to celebrate a special day with us and that you had such a good time. We do love our carvery and you are right Roast potatoes are a key ingredient, I will pass your feedback to the kitchen who will take extra special care.
We look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“A Great Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went for my wifes birthday and as we are members of the Deckers Loyalty Scheme, she was entitled to a starter, mains and sweet from the Al la Carte menu free. That is the way to reward loyalty!!!. I enjoyed the White Wine Shallot Mussels for starters, followed by the Pan Fried Fillets of Sea Bream for mains and Home Made Ice Cream for the sweet, my wife had the Crab, Chilli and Lime Fish Cakes, followed by Rump Steak and finishing with an excellent cheese board. A very nice bottle of Californian Rose perfectly chilled rounded everything off. All the food was excellent and cooked to perfection. As for service our waitress was Chelsea who was working on her own, but nothing was too much trouble and her willingness to please was a pleasure to find in this day and age. Hope they keep up this excellent service as we will be back again soon. The only negative is that having been informed on making our reservation that the restaurant would be open, on arrival we were informed that it is not open Mon - Thurs and food is served in the Bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Pennine Manor Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Yorkie1948
It’s great to hear from a loyalty member and we are delighted that you took us up on our Birthday offer, we want to treat our guests and we are delighted you enjoyed it. Look out for when it’s Pennine Manor’s Birthday – everyone gets cake!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My Mother's Special and very Significant Birthday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Recently my Mother chose to celebrate her very special birthday at the Pennine Manor. The gathering was for fifty or so and having chosen the menu, the management and staff delivered on the day with patience, presence and elegance. The hospitality staff lead by Jordan, and guided by Julie prior to the day, supported my Mother's dream for her birthday luncheon in all ways. A crooner serenaded the party after dessert, and again, everything was done to ease the set up. The cuisine was superb in all ways and the salmon cooked to perfection. What a great team! Thank you all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Pennine Manor Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Deborah M

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled that you had such a good time, and the compliment you have bestowed on our team at Pennine Manor has delighted them all. We hope you will visit again very
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb food super service super value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Had the dine and stay package and I have to say it was excellent from the welcoming at check in through till leaving the following day! The service was spot on, all food cooked to perfection and well presented. All in all a wonderful nights stay and looking forward to visiting again. Definatly worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Pennine Manor Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Gaza1974

Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled you had such a good night, our sleep dine offer is one of our most popular. The team are delighted you had such a good time and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennine Manor Restaurant also viewed

Castleton, Rochdale
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pennine Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennine Manor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.