We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of casa colina

casa colina
6 Kiln Hill | Slaithwaite, Huddersfield, England
+44 1484 846451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 372 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This very small restaurant seats 30 comfortably. Our food is served Tapas style so lots of little dishes offering lots of different tastes from around the mediterranean. We cater for all dietary requirements. Please call ahead for any special requirements.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have visited this restaurant before and the food is excellant. The Early Bird, which is what we had on Sunday, is really good value and you have the same full choice from the menu. We understand that the Paella is becoming quite famous locally and whilst we were there several phone calls were taken for take away. You can take your own alcohol which also is a great help with the cost.
With the recent hot weather you could easily have thought you were in Spain. The desserts looked fab but we were too full. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    14
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have been to Casa Colina many times and each time all I get from my husband is a contented mmmmmmmmmm throughout the meal. We arranged a birthday party there for family and friends and it was such a success, the only problem being that there are now something like six extra people wanting to eat there, which means slightly less chance of getting in at short notice. However, Linda is always so good at slotting us in so we shall just have to keep on going early. Well worth waiting for even if it takes a while to get in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Strange !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Never been in a restaurant what seems to want you out before you have even sat down the whole experience felt very rushed .
Front of house and the chef seem not to be natural restauranters and seem not to do this as a day job
As for the food we were expecting something pretty good after reading the reveiws
The chorizo wi red wine was very bitter as if the chef had not cooked the wine out
Beef stifado the cinnamon was overpowering
Potatoe bravas seemed to be some frozen then deep fried little potatoes with some onion and tomatoes plonked on top not really homemade
Potatoe wedges seemed more m cains out of a bag than so easy to do fried in their skin potatoes
Garlic bread wi cheese ok
Prawn pil pil passable
Meatballs pretty flavourless and shop bought not home made as should be expected !
Wanted to like this place so much but front of house needs to chill and the chef needs to up its game for the prices to go up as they are shortly doing and find some passion for his food ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It was my first visit here with my boyfriend. We had a gorgeous meal and will definitely be going back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Go to this restaurant every year as a girly night out.
Excellent service lovely food.
Had to book in February to get in in May!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed casa colina also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to casa colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage casa colina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.