We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Three Acres Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Me and my wife decided to have a nice romantic meal out, as this place was recommended.
We ordered starters and a meal, and food was served within 15 mins, nice and hot.
Main meal was also good, but the only negative I could say was we got the same vegetables, even though we ordered different foods, only because we noticed other people had a variety of different veg. Other wise food and service was really good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Manager at Three Acres Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Stuart we are so please you and your wife enjoyed your romantic meal with us and the food and service played a part in your enjoyment.
However we will look into your comments regarding vegetables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
41
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed between Christmas and new year, present from our daughter. We love to eat at the three acres, and never been disappointed. So we were delighted with the opportunity to stay over as well as enjoy the dining experience. We were given room No.1. Which was spacious however the quality of the fixtures and fixings was poor, dated "golden pine furntiure"which I thought was long past it's sell by date. The bed was comfortable,towels nice. Breakfast was great, and service was faultless. It's a pity a relatively small investment in good quality furniture hasn't been considered by the owners

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Manager at Three Acres Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us during the Christmas period and enjoying our food and the service you received.
We do welcome your observations regarding the room you were allocated and note your comments with interest thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Visited the resturant with a group of friends. Was informed there was a limited menus, as the had run out of some items, this was at lunch time so god help those going out for dinner. The meals came out at different times and forgot one meal altogether. Not the best meal for the cost, not sure if we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyfall
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Viewing a property in the area and the estate agent suggested 3 acres for lunch. I have to say we were not dissappointed if a little too expensive for lunch £18.50 for roast beef platter £18 for fish and chips but good. One big complaint the wi fi is disastrous,not acceptable at the prices they charge. The excuse interference from emley moor mast. Not true just need a decent router with more access points

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times, mostly due to the restaurant and proximity to one of my customers. The restaurant is truly lovely, with a nice atmosphere and excellent food. However, the rooms are a mixed bag. The rooms above the restaurant/bar are generally very small. The room (#2) that I was in during this visit has no desk and no place to lay out/store your suitcase. My room was also lacking a TV remote control and hair dryer. There is no lift, and access to the upstairs rooms is via a narrow stairway that is accessed by passing through the dining room. The staff was quite friendly. There is an annex with several rooms about 30 yards from the main hotel. They have a couple of suites and downstairs rooms, and it is also quieter in the annex. WiFi is free.

Room Tip: Select the Annex rooms for a quieter stay; it is only about a 30 yard walk from the back of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I have been here a few times but this is the first time I have brought my children along, and NEVER again will I eat in an establishment that is so obnoxious and blatently rude to people with children. I find this utterly disgraceful, when on the webaite it states that they cater to children, to then be told my the owners daughter, no less, that "an establishment such as this does not require to children " I have never in my life recieved such terrible hospitality I have been to far worse and far better were I have recieved the service you would except in such environments!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Myself and my husband visited this pub for a late lunch as a bit of a treat. The food was lovely, fish and chips and the roast beef dinner. Best of all you can pick your portion sizes ie small/ large. The pub itself was very very busy so I was thinking it was going to take a whole for us to be served or to get our food ... But it was quite the opposite our food came quickly and the service was very good. It's just such a shame that its a misty day as we were unable to see the views however I know we will definitely return and fingers crossed it will be a clear day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Acres Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.