We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Weavers Bar & Restaurant with rooms

The Weavers Bar & Restaurant with rooms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huddersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Weavers Bar & Restaurant with rooms
Save
You added The Weavers Bar & Restaurant with rooms to your Saves list
88 Knowl Road | Golcar, Huddersfield HD7 4AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Weavers is a beautiful old building, with bags of character and a funky modern style.

The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, everyone we spoke to was absolutely lovely.

The bedrooms are generously sized, with lovely soft plush carpet underfoot. Some have baths, some shower rooms ensuite; we had a shower room. It was a lovely large cubicle with a rain shower - great if you don't mind getting your hair wet, but a little impractical if you don't want to wash your hair, and sadly no shower cap was provided.

There is a decent hairdryer provided in the room, which is quite a rarity. The tea tray was well stocked with tea/coffee/sugar/milk, though perhaps a decaf tea/coffee or hot chocolate option would be nice. Curtains are thick, but not blackout, so the room isn't as dark as it perhaps could be.

The bed was wonderfully comfortable, a lovely firm-but-soft mattress, similar pillows, lovely snuggly duvet which was encased in a deliciously soft and clean smelling cover. HOWEVER... the big problem for me is that the beds are only doubles. No problem really if you're travelling alone, but me and my husband are tall and there just isn't room for two tall people in a double bed. Given the bedrooms are quite large, I'm surprised they only put double beds in as there would have been plenty of room for a kingsize.

Unfortunately, this one key factor is enough that I won't be staying there again - the smallness of the bed combined with being woken early by the light meant that my sleep quality was absolutely horrendous. It's a REAL shame, as on all other fronts this place is absolutely delightful and I'd have had no hesitation to recommend it.

Definitely go for the food though - the Sunday roast deal is phenomenally good value (three courses for £15) and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you're sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I have dined at this restaurant a few times this year and have to say I have enjoyed it each time.
They do a nice varied selection of dishes on the early bird menu which I have chosen to have on most occasions.
The food is of a high standard and nicely presented.
The decor and open log fire make it somewhere very welcoming and a nice place to enjoy a meal.
Defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have nothing but superlatives to say about the food and service we recieved at the Weavers, I took my wife for a romantic evening during November.The staff were all very attentive and nothing was too much trouble,Heidi and Daniella were our waitresses and a big thankyou to them for making our night a very special one.
Now to the food, my wife had the smoked chicken risotto which was sublime and both mains of pork and pheasant were heaven, big thanks to all the kitchen staff for making our evening so wonderful. Keep up the good work we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Went to weavers for a small 40th party -12 of us. All staff absolutely pristine and beautifully smart. Impeccable service from beginning to end,polite,courteous,nothing was too much trouble.All our party practically licked our plates clean,the food was heavenly. Absolutely wonderful,congratulations to chefs,waiting staff ,management,washer uppers,everyone . Fabulous night,thank you x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here on business with a number of colleagues, sadly just for 1 night. Despite all being battle-hardened and cynical global business travellers, my colleagues and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Weavers. The rooms and the restaurant and bar were immaculate, comfortable, modern decor but with heritage features retained from the original mill building, such as fireplaces, walls stripped back to stone etc. Also decent drench showers in the rooms, extremely rare in UK hotels for some reason.
The food is the real treat. The evening meal was excellent, good wine list and some well kept beers. Good unobtrusive service. The breakfast was excellent - the salmon and scrambled egg should have been on the evening menu as it was too good for a breakfast. For the quality of food and accommodation it was good value for money. Will definitely return. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

A fantastic meal. I visited with my family and was blown away with the excellent service, beautiful food and welcoming surroundings.
Some Huddersfield restaurants have a lot to learn from the Weavers!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Didn't know what to expect because booked by a friend as we were going to a wedding in the area but was very impressed. Beautifully refurbished, lots of natural stone. Rooms very nice, comfortable beds although could do with a mirror on wall for drying hair etc, no plug in bathroom. Had evening meal at Weavers on first night which was excellent, could not fault it and the breakfast was just as impressive. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we will definitely be back if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Weavers Bar & Restaurant with rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weavers Bar & Restaurant with rooms

Address: 88 Knowl Road | Golcar, Huddersfield HD7 4AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weavers is situated in a traditional weaving village oozing historical charm with excellent local walks. It began its life in the mid 18th century as a cloth finishing mill and a vital part of the textile industry in the Colne Valley. Linked with the Taylors, an influential family in the weaving business, the hose became a feature of the mill in the 19th century. The Weavers opened as a restaurant in the early 1970’s with rooms being added in 1999. The new owners, Andrew and Kate Ratcliffe, have given The Weavers a fresh lease on life with the aim of creating a fine dining and drinking experience at affordable prices. Extensive work has gone into the careful renovation of this historical building with the intention of preserving as many of the original features as possible, including the mill chimney, which dates back to the 1750’s. The gardens have been renewed to their former glory and include an outdoor eating area, terrace for drinking and a unique orangery. The Weavers is an exciting and innovative development for the area of Golcar for the whole family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Weavers Bar & Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Huddersfield
The Weavers Bar And Restaurant With Rooms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Weavers Bar & Restaurant with rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.