We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good Americano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh Mallow

Marsh Mallow
94A Westbourne Rd | Marsh, Huddersfield HD1 4LF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 452 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Huddersfield
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Americano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I couldn't say that this is the best places for coffee in Huddersfield, as I haven't been to every place in Huddersfield that serves coffee, but it's probably the place that I've enjoyed going to the most in HUddersfield for coffee.

Like everywhere there's the occasional blip - e.g. a cappiccino that's too weak or lukewarm, but on the whole the coffees consistently good. The Americano, which is the easiest to get right (other than espresso) is consistently good enough to drink black with no sugar (a rare occurence here in the uk), and, unlike Costa and Nero, does not expose a frequent over-extraction of the espressos used to make it. The Coopers coffee seems consistently strong enough without this.

I would reserve 5 stars for a place that uses genuinely freshly roasted coffee, but as these are almost non-existent in this country, most places could never have 5 stars from me - however, due to the nice interior and friendly prompt service, four stars in the next best thing I can give.
This is, though, purely on the coffee (it is a coffee shop after all), rather than the food as well - given that I've never had any - but what I can say is that what I've seen other people eat looks very nice (salads, soups paninis etc.).

I can recommend this place a lot, but please don't follow my advice and go - it will make the place more crowded and spoil the peacefulness of my morning coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a lovely cafe - a great choice of coffee, good food, plenty of newspapers to read and very friendly staff. There's a small public car park across the main road and also parking in the side street

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

i have tried most of the cafes on this stretch of road. its been mainly when i have had hospital visits. the cafe is very clean and bright. the staff are very friendly. the food was delicious and very fresh. i opted for the greek salad. it was the best one i had tried in the huddersfield area. the cakes looked very tempting but i didnt have time to try one. i will definately be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Come for the coffee - the best in Huddersfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place occupies what I think used to be the Marsh House pub (near the post office) and the contrast couldn't be sharper. It's now a friendly, unpretentiously stylish, cafe that does just the best coffee.

There's the usual range of coffees, and everything I've tried - from espressos to capucinnos - has been great. Intense, flavoursome, authentic taste unsurpassed anywhere in Yorkshire for me. Prices very reasonable too. And the option of a pretty genuine mint tea a nice twist.

There's a range of food on the side. Nice ice cream in a range of flavours, paninis, sandwiches (both around £3.50-£4.00) soups and cakes. I like the fact that they they asked how much chilli I'd like in my Mexican chicken paninin and upped up the schoville count accordingly.

Been in with our kids a few times and really relaxed and family friendly.

It's not a massive place, not at all up itself, just elegantly simple in a brown furnishings and cieling fan kind of way. But if you're around or passing through Marsh and like your coffee, well worth giving it a spin.

Think they have a facebook page - Facebook.com/marshmallow.huddersfield for more info, including occassional evening events.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh Mallow also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Marsh Mallow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh Mallow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.