We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Scape House

The Scape House
74 High Street, Scapegoat Hill, Huddersfield HD7 4NJ, England
01484766582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 372 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The refurbishment is very good and we were looking forward to some excellent food having heard good things about it's recent reincarnation. Alas we were not impressed. Spare ribs were unseasoned and heavily microwaved, in fact the texture was unpleasant and they tasted of very little. The hummus was perfectly good. A fish pie looked a mess with lumpy mash and cheese on the top. The filling was just about OK but it wasn't worth the money, microwaved I suspect as was the steak and ale pie and so the pastry was soggy and ruined. The paella was nothing like a paella, really quite nasty. The beer was superb with an excellent selection of real ale. Such a pity that whoever was in charge the evening that we ate is so reliant on the microwave.It is just so obvious and ruins much decent food. Will not be going back in a rush. We don't wish to be rude either but why do the waitresses speak with such silly voices when they take the orders and ask you if everything is alright?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScapeHouse, Owner at The Scape House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi firstly thank you for your review, we aim to respond to all reviews good or bad.

Trip advisor can be a useful tool in most cases and we try to take any feedback on board, it's just a shame there is nothing constructive within this review that we can indeed improve on. It seems everyone thinks they are Marco Pierre White these days, it's just that people try to act like him in the comfort of their own surroundings and not in the dignified way he offers constructive criticism at the time a problem may arise during service.

With regards to our staff, it is polite to ask people if they are enjoying their experience and acts as an opportunity for any dissatisfied guests to voice their concerns, it would indeed be rude of us to ask our staff to speak in a certain voice or accent when interacting, we just ask them to be friendly and polite. I don't know one restaurant, hotel or indeed any service worthy of noting that doesn't ask their customers if they are happy with their experience.

We are proud of what has been achieved at the scape house in such a short space of time and we are fully committed to continue improving over time. One of our biggest issues moving forward is the standard of equipment in the kitchen which certainly needs improving when finances allow, to keep up with the demand for good quality food with reasonable waiting times. We have tried to install a rational oven but unfortunately the current set up without three phase electric wont allow us to do this, we use a conventional oven to cook our food and use local suppliers and ingredients in all our meals which are freshly prepared on site. Judging by the amount of times you have mentioned microwaves I would be inclined to think you work for a company that supplies kitchen equipment. The dishes in question we will closely monitor over the forthcoming weeks but we haven't received any scathing complaints about all four dishes before and certainly not on the same table so maybe we will put this down to an isolated incident.

We do have a complaints policy usually when people say something whilst dining with us but on one occasion as a response to a very polite email we felt justified to offer a full refund, in this case we don't feel it necessary. If I can offer any constructive feedback to your review it would be to tell people if you are not happy there and then, some of our greatest friends and guests over the last decade have complained or offered advise on a first, second or third visit and still do today, that's the only way we can improve as a business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    29
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food in comfortable surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Food was very good and plenty of it. We ate with family and had a really good night out. Althought the weather was foul (snowing and blowing a blizzard), the room was warm and welcoming. We shall certainly be eating there again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScapeHouse, Owner at The Scape House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for your comments & for taking the time to post your review. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Scape House, especially given the terrible weather conditions on the date in question! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We popped in on the Saturday before Mother's Day. It was our first visit and only chose it based on the good reviews on trip advisor.
Well we have lived near by for 10 years and it is a shame we have only just discovered the scape house. We will definitely be back. The food was great and the staff are very friendly. They also have a goog selection of proper beers as well which was a bonus.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScapeHouse, Owner at The Scape House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic comments, we're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Scape House. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My two daughters took me to The Scape House for mothers day, having previoulsy eaten at the Scape House under the old managment and been disappointed I wasnt too sure what to expect. Firstly I must say what the new management have done to the pub's look is brilliant, it has gone from a cold looking place to a warm and cosy venue with a brilliant atmosphere.. and the open fire just finished it off.
As it was mothers day it was of course quite busy but the service recieved by the staff was smiley, efficient and nothing was too much, Our table was set in the restraunt however when we arrived there was a table free in the bar area and the staff were more than happy for us to sit there instead (Next to the fire). There was a special Mothers Day Menu and Mothers Day Specials board, I went for the good old Sunday Lunch which was beautiful... However when my daughters Jamaican Sweet Potato Curry came we were all a bit jealous!! It tasted amazing!!!
My husband was made up with the choice of beers to choose from and I hade a lovely Coffee.
Overall I was highly impressed with the service and the food at the Scape House and I will certainly be coming back and telling our friends about it!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScapeHouse, Owner at The Scape House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic comments & for taking the time to post your review. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Scape House, this is exactly the kind of experience we are striving for when everyone visits our pub. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good meal spoiled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to the Scape House for a meal to celebrate a 50th birthday. The quality of the food I cannot fault, everyone in the party of 10 thoroughly enjoyed their meals, however the evening as a whole was somewhat spoiled by bad management on the part of the pub. The entire restaurant area was booked out for another party of 30 and was already closed off at 5:30 when we arrived. The party was booked for 7:30 and the people attending were kept away from their table and crowded in the pub area for around 45 minutes, making conversation at our table almost impossible. Then at 8 o'clock, we were asked to leave our table as the pub had booked another group of 8 in at that time. This had not been mentioned to us at the time of booking the table. We explained that we had taxis booked for 9 o'clock and wouldn't be moving anywhere. The manager eventually agreed that we could stay in situ, possibly swayed by the fact our bill was in excess of £300, however this had already soured our evening. I doubt i will be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScapeHouse, Owner at The Scape House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for your review & the very honest feedback. Firstly, we are very pleased to hear that everyone in your party enjoyed the food.

With regards to the table we are glad this was brought to our attention as it has helped us improve the customer experience for future guests. Sometimes it can be difficult to judge the average turnover time for a table - as a rough guide we estimate 2 hours for tables of 2-4 people, and 2 hours 30 minutes for tables of 5+. This is fairly standard procedure for most places, in many of which guests are politely asked to continue with drinks say in the bar area. This has happened to me personally a couple of times elsewhere.

The occasion in question is the only time it's happened at the Scape House to date, but to try & avoid it happening again we are encouraging staff to discuss reservations in more detail with diners; for example are they celebrating, where are they travelling from, have they booked a return taxi at a set time. If this was done in your case then I'm sure the problem could have been averted as we could have allowed more time. We're disappointed to hear that you're unlikely to return based on this one error alone, but thanks again for bringing it to our attention & we wish you all the best to you & your family for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scape House also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Scape House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scape House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.