We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax

Save Saved
You added Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ainley Top | Junction 24 M62, Huddersfield HD3 3RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Huddersfield
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night in September.

Just off the M62 but very quiet. Booked two rooms in advance for under £100 the pair which was very reasonable.

Bedroom and bar all very clean and modern.

Breakfast not the best (poor quality sausages) but no real complaints for the price we paid.

Very easy to park.

Would happily stay here again if in the area. Have ranked it 'very good'. This is based on the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear JeffB_11,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the hotel. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am pleased to report that since posting your review, we have changed the sausages at breakfast and found that our recent guests have been very complimentary about the change.

Like us on facebook to be one of the first to hear about our forthcoming promotions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,

Kirsti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    146
    101
    67
    42
See reviews for
64
165
14
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

On one hand I really liked the friendly and funny staff but on the other hand I find it very odd that a hotel doesn't have any adapters that the guests from other countries could borrow. I forgot to take my adapter with me on this trip and couldn't charge my phone without one.

The hotel is not particularly pretty or charming but it is clean and I felt comfortable in there.

The location was a bit problematic since it's quite far away from the center of Huddersfield.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear annahuu,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you found the team friendly and the hotel clean, we do try to maintain high standards at all times. The hotel is conveniently located and is right on a bus route for easy access to both Halifax and Huddersfield centre's for guests reliant on public transport.

I was sorry to hear that we did not have any international adapters available during your stay, we do have a high stock of these, so can only presume that you stayed with us during the music festival where nearly 80% of the hotel was full with international travellers and demand was very high; I will certainly look at purchasing more in advance of next year's festival.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Cedar Court for 3 nights in Nov. We were there for a huge family reunion occupying quite a few rooms. The location is good, parking is ample but sadly we arrived to a very unwelcoming reception where not a word was spoken and keys were just handed over in silence - not great after a 12 hour car journey. Then to find out that due to an earlier power cut the lifts were not working. There was no offer of help with suitcases - one member of our party is 85 years old. The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were great but we had no heating in our room for the entire time (the thermometer read 14C - one night it dropped to 12c) but the corridors were nice and warm. We reported this every day yet nothing was done. Ready for a nice hot shower to warm our cold bones we soon realised that there was also no hot water and hardly any water pressure either. Again this was reported but nothing was done. We were not the only ones afflicted by this - it was more than one whole floor of the hotel. Our room was not made up after our first night and we had to go and get someone from housekeeping to come in and do it on the 2nd day. On our last morning at check out we were told that we could have used the showers in the gym if we wanted hot water - and that the entire hotel was in fact without hot water -the maintenance people would start work only after 12 noon. Thanks for that! I have been to better run campsites! No apology, offer of compensation ..... nothing. I was appalled to say the least and will certainly not be returning; customer service is quite obviously not big on their agenda.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Heike G,

Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry that your opinion of the hotel has been tarnished by the issues we experienced during the weekend that you stayed with us.

Unfortunately we did experience some problems with our heating and water systems over the weekend that you stayed with us, which resulted in the majority of the hotel being without for a period of time. Whilst we did everything in our power to minimise disruption, we were reliant on external engineers to fix the issue, as we could not do so with our in house maintenance team, therefore we offered guests the option of using the leisure facilities, as the hot water in this area was undisturbed.

I do hope that if your travels bring you back to the local area that you will give us another opportunity to show you that your experience was a ‘one off’

Regards,

Kirsti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Booked this hotel for a family reunion.Wouldn't recommend it. A few of us had dinner on Friday night and had to wait over an hour for it to arrive. It was not busy. Cistern in our bathroom never drained. The water was constantly running. We contacted reception about it at 10am on Sat morning. Nothing had been done by 5pm so contacted them agaIn,. Deputy manager came at 6.30pm, had a look and left but did nothing. On Sunday nmorng, whole hotel had no hot water. Receptionist suggested we showered in the leisure centre !! Check out was a disaster. One poor girl on reception and over 100 people trying to check out. Ordered taxi never arrived.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Seal302013,

Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry to read that you would not recommend the hotel.

Unfortunately we did experience some problems with our heating and water systems over the weekend that you stayed with us, which resulted in the majority of the hotel being without for a period of time. Whilst we did everything in our power to minimise disruption, we were reliant on external engineers to fix the issue, as we could not do so with our in house maintenance team, therefore we offered guests the option of using the leisure facilities, as the hot water in this area was undisturbed.

I have checked our duty manager’s log and found that there were no issues raised by yourself or other members of your party during your stay with ourselves, so we were not given an opportunity to resolve your dissatisfaction, if you had voiced your concerns I do feel that your view of the hotel would not have been as negative.

I do hope that if your travels bring you back to the local area that you will give us another opportunity to show you that your experience was a ‘one off’

Regards,

Kirsti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in early November and had a lovely time. The staff on reception at arrival could have been a bit more welcoming , but apart from that we had an excellent time. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable, warm and well-deorated. The food from the restaurant was very impressive. We had dinner in our room and the service was very good. My daughter and I enjoyed the swimming pool and toddler pool and there was also a sauna and jacuzzi, which I unfportunately didn't get a chance to use. Breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from and the staff very pleasant. We stayed on the Dinner, bed and breakfast deal so it was a bargain for what was included. Overall, would I stay again. Yes, I think I would!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Amanda D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. I shall ensure that your feedback regarding your experience upon arrival is acted upon, as we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a friendly Yorkshire welcome, all of the time.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed in a 3rd floor Twin Bedded Room at the Cedar Court Hotel. Ainley Top, Huddersfield over Saturday night early November 2013.Our room over looked the front car park and was spacious and nicely furnished in a modern style consisting of table and chairs, mirror, wardrobe, wide screen Tv, coffee making facilities and en suite bathroom shower and toilet. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable and it was quiet at night.The food was excellent with a 3 course evening meal and a buffet style Full English Breakfast in the morning with cereals and fruit.
The hotel has a nicely decorated lounge area where you can watch Tv in comfort and have a drink at the bar and the prices were reasonable. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Netsky271,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Kirsti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is not in the censter, but with views of green garden. Hard to cross the highwayoutside in the rush hour, which is a pity an makes you feel being on an island. I needed to desinfect a needle after I got some of the local thorns in my hand climbing up the hill from the unsuccessful attempt of crossing the motorway. But there were none! lighters or matches in the whole hotel. Or cigarettes. But the bar was open as long as we wished. Bad selection of gin. In England! 2 types onløy. And bad beer. The food was a little sedate, but worked out fine for me. Rooms were standard. But they had NO adapters for continental 2 pin contacts! Strange. It is some kind of uncivilized feeling one can get here. But they have a spa that I never had time yo use.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Rolf-Erik N,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay overall.

As the hotel is a non-smoking property we do not stock supplies of either tobacco products or associated items. There is a 24 hour petrol station located just a five minute walk away for our guest's convenience. There are several designated crossing points around the hotel for pedestrians accessing the hotel via our main entrance, so I am not sure why you chose to access the hotel via climbing the grass banking.

We do stock popular brands throughout the bars at the hotel, I am sorry that these were not to your liking.

Our reception team do have a number of adapter plugs available on free loan to overseas guests, so perhaps if you stayed with us recently when we had a high number of foreign guests staying with us in conjunction with a local festival these may have all been out on loan.

I hope that you return to the hotel and we can have a further opportunity to demonstrate to you our high standards throughout.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax

Address: Ainley Top | Junction 24 M62, Huddersfield HD3 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huddersfield’s only 4 star hotel welcomes you with friendly staff and wonderful amenities. Conveniently located just off the M62 the hotel is an ideal base that can cater for a wide variety of breaks.The Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield Halifax has 113 beautifully appointed bedrooms, the wide variety of accommodation on offer caters for all hotel users whether you are here for a weekend break or visiting on business.The Olympic Bar & Grill offers excellent dining in a welcoming relaxed atmosphere.Residents have full access to our Health Club which boasts an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, gymnasium, steam room and hot tub. For business guests we have 15 meetings rooms that can accommodate anything from a one-on-one interview to a seminar for 450 delegates, the Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield is ideally located to conduct all manner of business meetings or conferences.The hotel also has private banqueting facilities that can accommodate anything from 10 to 440 guests. and is also licensed for civil weddings / partnerships.Add all of this to our complimentary high speed Wi-Fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary car parking for up to 250 cars and an excellent, easy-to-access location, and you have the ideal hotel for a stress-free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Huddersfield
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Hotel - Huddersfield/Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.