We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huddersfield's Jazz Cafe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Society

Cafe Society
15 Byram Street | HD1 1DR, Huddersfield, England
01484 533999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 372 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Contemporary, Café, Wine Bar, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Telephone orders welcome
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Huddersfield's Jazz Cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

In a town with many cafes to choose from, I want to offer up some love to the often forgotten Cafe Society, near the open market.

A genteel atmosphere and quiet jazz soundtrack makes for a relaxed breakfast in this clean, welcoming and friendly place. And they do veggie and gluten free breakfasts, a selection of sandwiches and cakes and all in an atmosphere that is both classy and unpretentious. Warmly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a pleasant experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Went with my wife yesterday, and what a pleasure it was. Had snack from the sandwich menu,and the best coffee we have had for a very long time. Cafe is absolutely spotless, and the couple running the place are a delight.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Huddersfield's Best-Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

- You will not find a better cup of coffee or welcome anywhere in Huddersfield than here. In fact, I'll go so far as to say that given the papsi-challenge, they have the best toilets in Huddersfierld too!

Menu is what you might expect of a modern cosmopolitain cafe but with a fresh, modern twist on the cafe culture in Huddersfield.

If you value supporting independant traders who have consideration about where your food is sourced from and what the quality of your ingredients is- then this is the place for you.

Child friendly, Sammy's kids menu will delight your child and if not- just ask!!! They will accommodate the most fussy of children- even mine!

Well done guys- keep up the good work!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, service and atmosphere everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have been to this stylish yet relaxed and friendly cafe for breakfast (excellent bacon butty and delish coffee!), lunch (gorgeous soup and roll for my partner and lovely cheese and ham sarnie for me) and also to a couple of their fantastic Jazz & Ale nights. Its a great place to get away from it all and relax during the day they also seem to cater for all kinds of dietry requirements. My only requirement is to have that lovely feeling you get when you've eaten a really well made meal that hits the spot and they deliver every time. The food is way above your standard quick bite eateries in most town centers and still great value for money. I am keeping an eye out for upcoming evening events as they are a great way to kick start an evening with a few friends. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
1 review
“A Smart place to eat at...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were visiting Huddersfield in late March 2012 and were advised that we would be very satisfied with the food and with the service. We were NOT disappointed... The sausages were especially good and the selection of coffees was good too. Nothing seems to be too much of a bother with the staff who, I believe, are the Owners. The ambiance is very welcoming. One item that always marks out an establishment that cares for the customers is the condition of the toilet/washing facilities, you will be pleasantly surprised at the high standard here...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Society also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.