We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a place that ticks all the boxes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull's Head

Bull's Head
Blackmoorfoot | Linthwaite, Huddersfield HD7 5TR, England
+44 1484 847225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 346 restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Charming country pub now fully refurbished. Cosy atmosphere, great fresh food, exciting drinks list and warm hospitality. A Prime British Pub With A Continental Twist!
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At last a place that ticks all the boxes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Finally a pub that delivers on that tricky balace of atmosphere/service/ location and great food! If you want restaurant quality food in a relaxed freindly pub then The Bulls Head has it all going on. We went on a Sat night and even though it was busy we didn't have to wait for service at any point. In fact the waiter was great especially as I took a while to choose from a delicious selection on the menus and special board. In the end I had a beautiful home made scotch egg with curried mayo dressing followed by the most wonderful slow roast pork and crackling you would sell your Mother for! Yum Yum. Didn't have room for dessert but are planning Sunday lunch later on the month. A walk round Blackmoor foot Reservoir a pub lunch at The Bulls Head with fabulous country views, with family, with pudding and topped off by an afternoon sofa nap, it doesnt get better than that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at Bull's Head, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi there Michelle, and many thanks for your great review of The Bulls Head. We are really chuffed that you thought our pub ticked all the boxes. It's really pleasing to hear that you thought that the food and service was spot on as the team work really hard to deliver this time and time again. As you say a walk around the reservoir and a pub lunch is a great way to enjoy a few hours and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    125
    42
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The place just gets better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and the Missus head up here for lunch on my "not too many" midweek days off and have been doing for a while now, we're always greeted with a friendly smile and excellent service, the food is always the best quality and the deserts even better. Better still we are always welcome either just us 2 or with the 4 children age 7and under... And after the refurb well... My title says it all. :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at Bull's Head, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there and thanks for your great review of The Bulls Head. Obviously it means a lot to us when customers return time after time, and we are so pleased you like the refurbishment. We always aim to provide a warm welcome for adults and kids alike, as the new stunning looking pub is nothing without that friendly service. We are delighted that you gave us 5 stars for all parts of your review and we hope you will continue to return on a regular basis. We appreciate your custom and the time taken to leave us your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New refurb spot on to match friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had visited previously in the refurb reopening week & had a fabulous meal with my Mum (smoked haddock fish cakes, with poached egg on top of rolled bacon, with hollandaise sauce - absolutely scrumptious, freshly cooked & served with a welcome & friendly smile). We loved it so much I took my friend the following week for her favourite, moulles & frittes. These did not disappoint either, a generous portion of huge, beautifully fresh mussels in a perfect sauce served with homemade chips & fresh bread & the same friendly and attentive welcome. The refurb is in excellent taste & we would certainly consider using the upstairs separate dining area, which has fabulous views over the countryside, for or next 'big' family meal out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at Bull's Head, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
hi there and thanks for your fab review of The Bulls Head. It is really pleasing when we get 5 out of 5 for all aspects of our business, and it's great that you rated us so highly. Of course with any pub re-launched after a major refurbishment, we wait with some anticipation (and a little bit of nervousness!) to hear what our customers think; it seems we got it right for you on both your visits. As you say we have an upstairs mezzanine room with wonderful views over the Colne Valley. This can be booked out privately, but is open to all when not booked, and it really is a lovely room. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprise package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here with some friends (8 in total) as a last minute meet up. Food was good quite a wide selection, a touch pricey but you pay for what you get, staff friendly especially as we had a new born baby, they cleared a table for all of us out of the way which was nice. Atmosphere was good, there were locals having a drink in the bar but not to loud. Only negative I would say was there was no baby changing facilities which if it advertises itself as a family pub they could fo with investing in some. Overall tho a thumbs up, if your in the area give it a whirl

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at Bull's Head, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi there and thanks for your kind review of The Bulls Head. It sounds as though you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service which is always nice to hear. We are not particularly a family pub (and don't advertise as such) but always welcome those with little ones, and do our utmost to accommodate all customers who visit us. Our prices reflect the highest standards of fresh food and personal service and we think we offer great value for money in this marketplace. We do hope you visit us again soon and thanks for your custom and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I called in for lunch after a walk. I chose the Salt Beef sandwich and my wife chose the Chicken BLT.

Both were superb!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at Bull's Head, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
hi there, and thanks for your "short but sweet" review of our pub. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit, as "superb" is the standard we strive to deliver. Our bar snacks menu is great for those out for a walk in the lovely countryside surrounding us, and of course we have a more substantial menu for those wanting more than a sandwich. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull's Head also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.