We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pennine Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Pennine Manor Hotel to your Saves list
The Pennine Manor Hotel
Nettleton Hill Road/Scapegoat Hill, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Huddersfield
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a fantastic evening we arrived early had a lovely bath and got ready at our leisure, met for drinks at 6.30pm with freinds for my birthday, In Came Basil , Sybil & Manuel, what a laugh they seated us at our tables and we enjoyed a superb 3 course dinner, we didnt stop laughing it was a very entertaining evening with superb food, the staff couldnt do enough for us we did have a problem with our bed however the manager dealt with it straight away and was very helpful, breakfast was lovely, nice and hot and lots of choice, we will definatley go back.

Room Tip: i have put sleep quality as poor but i am sure this was a one off, our matress was broke and needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear looneylegs,

Thank you for your kind review and I am really pleased to hear that you had such an entertaining evening at the Faulty Towers event and that the food was superb. These events are always a lot of fun and it's great to hear that you enjoyed it.

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with your bed and I'm glad that this was resolved to your satisfaction. It's great to hear that you will be visiting us again and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    57
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
38
78
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at the Pennine Manor whilst attending a function. The location can be spectacular or bleak depending on what weather greets you. However the greeting of the staff at reception was very good, and this was reflected with all the staff during our stay. They were polite and attentive without being intrusive.
Yes stairs can be a bit of a bind carrying bags etc, but for a value for money break very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear G-G-G-78

Thank you for your kind words. It's great to hear that our team looked after you so well and that your break was good value for money. We are very fortunate with the location of Pennine Manor, it's beautiful in summer and can be very dramatic in winter. I have passed your kind comments to the team and hope that we can welcome you to Pennine Manor again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Malton, North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The overwhelming feature of the hotel was the friendliness and courtesy of the staff. From entering to leaving all the staff were lovely to deal with.
The room and facilities were good. The breakfast was excellent, and the evening dinner was first class.
My wife and I missed having a lift, as we both find stairs a problem due to arthritis but I would recommend the Pennine Manor for comfort and value.

Room Tip: Check whether there is a wedding night reception and if so ask for a room away from the reception ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Chris S,

Thank you for your lovely review of Pennine Manor and I am really pleases to hear that our team were really friendly and lovely to deal with and that your evening dinner was first class. I appreciate your comments regarding a lift and this is something that we can look into. I have passed your kind comments to the team and hope that we can welcome you to Pennine Manor again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just returned from another stay on the Sleep and Dine promotion As always fantastic stay! Great food good room and lovely friendly staff as always. there was a wedding party there but as usual no detriment either to service or the food. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and this promotion is such fantastic value that maybe we should keep it to ourselves!! Always look forward to stays here and have never been disappointed an anyway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Lynne T,

I'm really pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic stay at Pennine Manor with our Sleep and Dine offer and that our team were really friendly. It's always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and I look forward to your next visit.

Our Sleep and Dine offer is also available at The Royal Toby Hotel in Rochdale and is extremely popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The staff were all so friendly - not one member of the team let the side down. Lovely people. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast had a good selection to choose from. The only minus points - the bathroom desperately needed modernising. It was perfectly functional but was very basic. Also, the breakfast ended at 9am, which I thought was too early for those not there working. All in all a very solid 3* hotel if you can forgive the slightly tired decor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear DLewisHarrison,

Thank you for your review of Pennine Manor and I am delighted to hear that our team was really friendly and looked after you. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. The style of the hotel is traditional country, which we feel does suit both the surroundings and the style of the building itself. We have recently appointed an Accommodation Manager who will fully inspect all rooms and corridors, and arrange for any issues raised to be resolved.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding our team and I hope that we can welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH YORKSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked a one night stay whilst visiting family in the area.Decided to dine at the hotel. There was a wedding function ongoing and despite the staff being very busy they managed to give us personal attention. The staff apologised for the fact we could not dine in the restaurant and the noise which actually did not bother us at all, but they found us a nice table in the bar area and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. All the staff at the hotel could not do enough for us, probably the best service in any hotel we have stayed at in the UK. The food was first class, both the evening meal and the breakfast which catered for every choice.My wife now wants a bed and pillows like the one in our room, so comfortable, a really good nights sleep. And of course, the location, spectacular views. We have previously stayed at other hotels in the area but Pennine Manor is now our first choice. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear greekisles4me,

Thank you for taking the time to review Pennine Manor and I am really pleased to hear that you were well looked after by our team, especially during such a busy evening! I have passed your kind comments to Mandy and her team and look forward to your next visit. If your next visit is on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night, we do have a Sleep & Dine offer which is excellent value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What can I say! Mandy is an amazing woman and helped us arrange our special day.
I can not fault this establishment it's set in a lovely rural setting beautiful views.
The food was amazing and we had an evening meal and breakfast. The food was fresh and handed to us to a high standard.
The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us

Thanks for a good time we will be back and also look forward to our wedding 28th Feb

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for your review of Pennine Manor and I am delighted to hear that our team were so friendly and that your meals were to a high standard. It's fantastic to hear that you'll be having your wedding with us and I'm really looking forward to welcoming you on your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennine Manor Hotel

Address: Nettleton Hill Road/Scapegoat Hill, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pennine Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.