We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day out, plenty for the little ones!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirklees Light Railway

Kirklees Light Railway
Park Mill Way | Clayton West, Huddersfield HD8 9XJ , England
01484 865727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 attractions in Huddersfield
Type: Scenic Railroads
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Travel along behind Hawk, Owl, Fox, Badger or Jay, our five friendly little engines here at the Kirklees Light Railway the home of Yorkshire’s Great Little Steam Trains.Climb aboard our little trains for a scenic journey along our 15” narrow-gauge rail through the beautiful South Pennine foothills to our Shelley terminus where you can enjoy the panoramic views of the surrounding area.Visit the Shelley station Tea Room for selections of seasonal refreshments. Children can play in the outdoor play area and on a summers day enjoy our large picnic area.Upon returning to Clayton West passengers can take pleasure in the many facilities available to them. The outdoor play area is ideal for children to ‘let off some steam’ whilst the adults browse our extensive shop. The Café serves hot and cold seasonal food and drink whenever the Railway is open.Many special events held throughout the year including: A Day Out with Thomas, Easter Eggspress, Olly Owls Big Weekend, Steam & Diesel Gala's, Halloween Ghost Trains and the Santa Express.We cater for groups, school visits, childrens birthdays, private functions and we also offer Driver Experience Courses.Open every weekend, school and bank holiday throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rothwell, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great family day out, plenty for the little ones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We got a voucher for Groupon for this day out and I thought it was spot on. My little boy of 22 months loved playing in the on site park and walking round the grounds. We enjoyed a lovely train ride to clayton west but at the other end it was a little disappointing as all there was only a bouncy castle and toilets. Overall it was a lovely day out

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    61
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day out for our little man!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited KLR on bank holiday Monday. Was due to visit the Thomas event the week before but didn't purchase tickets in time. Paid £14 for 2 adults and under 3 tickets (compared to £36 for a day out with Thomas). Great value day out and my son loved it. Plenty to do for a little one with play areas at both stations and bouncy castles at Shelley. Decent food in the cafe and reasonably priced, staff very friendly. My little boy loved the experience and has already asked to return!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Into railways - get along to the KLR. Excellent days with Thomas the Tank Engine or father Christmas, also specials for Hallowe'en. Quite a hoot and the staff/volunteers get involved with dressing up and making it fun for everyone.

A cafe for some welcome hot drinks and a small gift shop with something for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Volunteering for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I have a real obsession with steam. I only live a few miles from klr but never been. Finally we went 2 adults a 7 year old and a 10 day old baby. All of us had a great time the staff are brilliant and I am going to go back and do some volunteering work. Thanks to all its a dream of mine to drive steam

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Playgrounds and trains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited the railway on a Bank Holiday Saturday on a day with good weather. It was not too busy and we got on the train OK. Trains ran every 40mins. Journey was around 25 mins from one end to the other. There was a bouncy castle at the far end with a small play area. There is a small cafe and seating area that does cakes and crisp - this did not take card payments. All staff were friendly. There is a much larger cafe for lunches at the main station. There is a small sit on railway for 50p per person - good fun. The outdoor play area at the main station is more substantial. All in all, we spent around 4 hours there and really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirklees Light Railway also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kirklees Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirklees Light Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kirklees Light Railway to your Saves list