We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to cater for all trip types.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Hotel to your Saves list
Cambridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
“Great Hotel to cater for all trip types.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

From the moment we pulled into the new parking facilities, the service here was excellent. All staff were very polite and helpful. Place has had recent overhaul and everything is spot on from the public areas to the rooms.
Linens and towels were brand new and place was spotless.
Its location is ideal for a base for travelling the area or for just having a weekend away as it is less than 5mins walk to the centre of town.
Area seemed fine that hotel was located, walked around it at all times of the day and night and never felt intimidated. Cant imagine staying anywhere else for the service and pricing were spot-on.
Best of luck to them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    94
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
45
93
40
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I arrived early but was allowed to check in. Reception (Imran) very professional - treated as a customer and not a source of income. Room and bathroom fitted out to high standard. he actually took me up and showed me round and explained how things work etc.
Breakfast staff were equally friendly. Very convenient round corner from Station, past Sportmans
straight along the road and turn left .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed here just last weekend...the hotel has recently been refurbished and is absolutely lovely... couldn't fault it all all...attention to detail in the rooms is excellent...quality furniture and fittings...the power shower was amazing..but there is no bath..so that might put some off! but not me.. maybe some rooms do have one...best ask if it would bother you....the breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very friendly indeed...the location perhaps not the best..the area surrounding it is a bit run down but if you have to stay in this area...stay here..and you won't notice the edges! it isn't too far from the town centre, easy access to railway station and the football stadium (5-10 mins max) previous reviews have referred to 'dodgy dealings' but this is from old...dispense with that notion and enjoy the new....

Room Tip: ring and ask if you want a bath in your room...i'm not sure if they have any but worth ringing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Never judge a book by it's cover - the outside pics do NOT do this place any justice whatsoever!

Stayed here on the 4th Feb 2012 - came up for a football away day so in all honesty the hotel didn't need to particularly wonderful as it was just a place to crash after a full day / night of drinking.

However, upon arrival we were met by some super friendly staff, they place has just had a full refurb and they showed us to our rooms

I have spent plenty of time in hotels on business trips etc and paid more than double for places of 1/2 the quality!

Twin room £27.50 each with a full English breakfast is nothing more than the bargain of the year - the standard of the rooms was exceptional, a power shower that cleaned my teeth better than me and a room fully equiped with WiFi, Fridge, Iron, Hairdryer, etc etc etc

The staff were very friendly and attentive as well

Book it and book it NOW!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed at Cambridge Lodge as I was returning to Huddersfield after my last connecting train homewards. The hotel was within easy reach of the town centre, and the gentleman on reception was courteous and helpful. The room was very well cleaned, well decorated and well furnished. The free WiFi allowed me to catch up with emails and social media updates, with all necessary log-on information provided in the room. On checking out, the (different) gentleman on reception dealt with my checking out in a prompt, professional and friendly manner, enquiring after my stay. If I will be requiring to 'overnight' in Huddersfield again, I shall certainly be returning to the Cambridge Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Coast
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Mature couple stayed two nights weekend Nov 2010, forgot to do review until now. Family run(three generations) concern ofering clean basic accommodation, en suite, handily placed for station. Very comfortable beds(we we allocated a family room so lots of space), rather old telly and furniture, useful tea making equipment, a bit chilly in the room but it was that unexpectedly snowy weekend last November. Excellent, friendly staff service, breakfast excellent of its type, nothing pretentious just cooked to order full English(or various sorts of eggs) after cereals/juice, tea/coffee and toast, plus large basket of fresh oranges and bananas -most attractive and very welcome. Plenty of fresh milk to drink for lads with hangovers on sunday morning. Outstanding value for money. Long may they flourish

Room Tip: All quiet in an interesting historic area of Huddersfield
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for almost two weeks. Full English breakfast, free Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities included. It's all for 40 GBP / night which is a great value for that service (I've stayed at more expensive hotels but in many of them the quality of service was in a lower level than in this hotel). Staff is very friendly and helpful, I've never had any reason to complaint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.