We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa to your Saves list
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mansion House | Luton Hoo, Luton LU1 3TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Luton
dunstable
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a beautiful hotel, 5 star service, 10 star interior stunning, food absolutely excellent but small portions. Well worth a visit for a special occasion although not cheap. Great afternoon tea. Have dinner in the Werner restaurant, stunning location/venue

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    210
    114
    73
    40
See reviews for
151
364
12
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is pleasant and slightly expensive. Depending where you stay as to your enjoyment . They have a strange system of black cabs to get you there and back from your part of the hotel complex. The Weir is a mile away while the Flower block is a 10min walk. The main house is where you want to be. It is dimmly lit and gives the air of a London Club...drinks are reasonable. Mobiles don't work very well as you are in the middle of a large park. You can get texts out so people can phone you in your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel before and found the service good, the rooms ok and the spa clean and nice to be in. However if you want to pre-book spa treatments before your date of arrival at the hotel, you simply won't be able to get through on the telephone as the spa staff never answer the phone and there is no answering service. Eventually I complained to Switchboard who did arrange a call back - I missed the call back (which was attempted nearly 3 hours later) by seconds and called the spa back immediately but once again nobody would answering incoming calls. So if you want to enjoy treatments at a spa hotel, go to a different hotel, not Luton Hoo!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Set in the grounds of this fantastic old house; the grounds are magnificent. Champagne on arrival was a lovely touch. A complimentary upgrade to the Wehrner for dinner was most welcome - take a jacket and tie alternatively speak to the concierge and one can be arranged with the minimum of fuss. We quickly came to the conclusion that for our next visit it would be worth the extra expense - the food and service was faultless, a mixture of French/English cuisine.

Taxis take you between the different complexes which is a nice feature.

The place has a rich and fascinating history - used as a venue for the DofE's 60th birthday, a talk by Winston Churchill, film set for Four Weddings and a Funeral etc etc...

We had a drink in the piano lounge which was sublime. Staff take care to ensure that your stay is superb. The spa is a relaxing haven with magnificent oak beams and heated floors. Facilities are spotlessly clean and leisure complex staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is big enough to have a sense of anonymity but the staff care enough to add a personal touch when needed.

Breakfast was excellent - although we asked for ours to be freshly prepared rather than the buffet which was less appealing. Standard rooms are as you would expect large but 'hotel-like' not particularly individual but who cares?!!

Reassuringly expensive and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room it will be excellent regardless - spend time in the restaurant/spa or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Our room was upgraded because it was my Husband's birthday the day we checked in - which was a lovely touch. From reception staff actually walking you to your room, to a note beside the tea & coffee with a number to call if you would like fresh milk brought, to the old fashioned taxis that run you between the main house and the spa - it is luxurious, yet captures perfectly English quirkiness! We opted for the fine dining in Werners Restaurant - and the food was fabulous, and most importantly, the waiters were polite, helpful, but not in any way patronising, which is what normally puts us off fine dining. The weather was atrocious, which prevented golf, so we used the spa - which is immaculate and has a heated floor - no wet areas & no slipping!
We only stayed from Saturday to Sunday . . . .and wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great, but obviously staying in the mansion house itself would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just spent a weekend at Luton Hoo hotel. What a location, despite the weather! Our room was more than we could have expected and located perfectly within the grounds. The Spa is a wonderful place to relax in and the pool area is perfect. We ate in Adam's Brassiere, the ambience was relaxing, service with out fault and the food was very good. We had our 1 year old son with us and the staff did all they could to facilitate us and made our stay one to remember.

Room Tip: We went for an executive double as we had our son, there was more than enough room and bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We took a couple of nights away here while visiting family and found it to be a fantastic experience in every respect. Our host, Ben Hunt, treated us like royalty with delicious food, a lovely room and some of the most beautiful surroundings you could ever hope for from a hotel - top class.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Address: The Mansion House | Luton Hoo, Luton LU1 3TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf Luton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.