We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stockwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stockwood Hotel to your Saves list
Stockwood Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41-43 Stockwood Crescent, Luton LU1 3SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never ever stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The website description of the hotel and the insistence of the staff to take the full fee prior to being show to the room gave the impression of a well run hotel. However this was not the experience .
The charge was £55:00 for bed and breakfast. There was no indication upon booking the the hotel was in fact a building site, the room was cold, there was no hot breakfast, the bar was closed and the room dirty. The staff was surly and very rude. There was no electricity on the first morning, and guests could not even have a hot drink.
I am extremely disappointed that when I tried to speak to a hotel manager the reception staff was very rude with no sign of any courtesy or any modicum of customer service. I later discovered that this was in fact the manager/owner.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    27
    6
    30
See reviews for
12
26
21
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My daughter and I were booked to spend one night (November 2011) in two rooms in this hotel. The rooms were booked through LateRooms at a cost of 55 GBP each room including breakfast. On arrival at the hotel I noticed a rubbish skip in the very small car park and on entering reception a prop supporting the ceiling in the reception area, this should have told us enough but we were tired after a long drive and decided to check-in. The male staff member told us that he would have to process our debit or credit cards and there would be a charge of 1 GBP for each transaction, we reluctantly agreed as there had been no mention of this charge on the LateRooms or the hotel websites. We were given the keys to two rooms on the first floor. On entering the corridor that led to our rooms, I noticed that the lights at the far end of the corridor did not appear to work which was annoying because one of our rooms was at the end. On entering the first room the first thing I noticed was a very strong chemical smell and it was extremely hot. The room was scruffy, the furniture worn, the TV didn't work, there was patches of mould on the walls & celing in the showeroom, no soap had been provided and the electric shower switch extension cord was missing. We walked along the dark corridor to the other room passing, on our left, dooways that had been blocked up with plasterboard and we noticed build debris on the carpet ( was this why the lights were off to hide the building work?). The second room was worse first than the first room, it was cold (the windows didn't close properly), there were huge cracks in the walls, patches of mould on the showeroom ceiling and walls. The furniture was worn and scruffy and there was a line of black dust on a coaxial cable socket on the external wall above one of the beds (see photo). I returned to my car and retrieved my digital camera and took some photos. Then my daughter and I returned to the reception area and stated that we were not happy with the standard of our rooms. The male staff member quickly got very defensive and had an excuse for every item that we bought to his attention. At no time did he offer us alternative rooms or did he offer to view the rooms to see what we were concerned about. In the end we said that we would not be staying and he stated that we would still be charged for the rooms because he could now not re-let them. I asked for a refund on the grounds of poor standard of the rooms and I was refused. I have since written to the manager of the the Stockwood hotel asking for a refund and the reasons for not staying in the hotel but to date I have not had an answer. I think that the standard of the rooms did not justify the charges and the fact that refurbishment work was being carried out should have been posted on the hotels website and the LateRooms website. I have complained to Late Rooms and they have defended the hotel !

Room Tip: Insist on viewing the rooms before parting with any money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I agree with every damning review of this hotel. The only thing that was acceptible was the bedstheets: they were clean. The breakfast was passable also; the kitchen attendant was alert, busy and not unfreindly. I could hold my nose at the many other offences to our paid money for service rendered except that the staff were very hostile despite the superficial politeness. When my friend and I tried to complain civily about some of the more egregious service offences (especially the fact that our shower didn't work!!) the REAL attitude of the desk staff emerged; they were reactionary and disrespectful in the extreme, in fact outright HOSTILE. Prepare for that, dear reader...

Room Tip: I recommend NO room as I recommend NO night stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I agree with the other reviews, I found the guy on reception argumentative! The room extremely cramped, walls far too thin, very shabby, toilet ran out of toilet paper, no soap, bed linen extremely old, had the worst nights sleep, the list is endless, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Single room very poor quality. Evidence of damp. Decor poor. wash basin poor.
Bed awful. No onsuite. Could not recommend this hotel and would avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

After arriving in Luton at 12am and not being able to get back to Birmingham until the next morning, we needed a cheap, easy hotel and decided to book Stockwood. When we arrived we were both tired and needed a bed. The receptionist on that night (18th May 2011) was very helpful. He showed us where we were sleeping and where the toilets and shower were and told us breakfast was served until half nine. We got into our room and the window had been left wide open so the room was freezing with flies in it. The sheets were old looking and worn out. The flat screen tv was a good extra although. Then in the morning we went into the resturaunt at 8:50 before we went to get our coach, we were met by a gentleman clearing up saying that it was closed as he had to arrange the room for a meeting. I found this man very rude, i understand if he had to get things ready but i found him rude.He was also being rude to another guest who had asked for a cup of coffee by asking him repeatedly asking him to leave when the gentleman was only trying to ask a question. He did make us up a plate of ham and bread but after the experience we left soon after to get breakfast somewhere else. I won't be staying here again, if the member of staff was more polite this would be different.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

There's nothing much to recommend this hotel. It's old, the rooms are shabby, the street noise is constant, you have to pay a lot for wireless and it's in a depressing area of Luton. If there are no other rooms available in Luton, then I'd stay there again, but only then!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockwood Hotel

Address: 41-43 Stockwood Crescent, Luton LU1 3SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stockwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Stockwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockwood Hotel Luton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.