We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wardown Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wardown Park Museum

Wardown Park Museum
Old Bedford Road, Luton LU2 7HA, England
01582 546 722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Luton
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wardown Park Museum is situated in the beautiful landscaped Wardown Park, on the outskirts of Luton town centre. The museum offers a range of displays including the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Regiment Gallery and the popular Luton Life Gallery. The museum also holds around four temporary exhibitions a year on different subjects. Wardown Park Museum also holds events and activities for all ages and interests throughout the year.A cosy tearoom serving drinks and snacks and museum shop selling souvenirs, local history publications and old photographs is located on the ground floor.
Luton, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wardown Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Full of local history, particularly in relation to the history of the hat trade. They have so many historic items that they can only diplay a small part at any one time, but they work hard at rotating exhibits and changing them to keep a variety for regular visitors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Wardown Park Museum at Wardown Park Museum, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your response. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are very glad you enjoyed our local history exhibits and hope you visit Wardown Park Museum again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
luton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such a lot to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This has been updated and has loads of vintage stuff for the children to understand the full and varied history of Luton in an enjoyable way. Also has the armed services locally exhibited on World Wars.
great place to take the children for a enjoyable history lesson on all the crafts that Luton was famous for

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Wardown Park Museum at Wardown Park Museum, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review; your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Wardown Park Museum and that you found our exhibitions educational for children. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small but pleasant museum in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The museum is small but pleasant for an hours visit. The downstairs contains a Greek area, with artefacts, a room dedicated to Bedfordshire lace, a military wing along with a gift shop in the entrance and small tea room. There was also a temporary local artists exhibition when we visited. Upstairs contains more Luton specific displays, such as the history of car and hat manufacturing. It didn't take long to view everything, but it's free to park, free to enter and the building is beautiful. Afterwards, we took a walk in Wardown park, feeding ducks along the river and let the kids enjoy the small playground.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Luton Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

As a child I loved going to the museum and my abiding memory is the stuffed birds and an old fire engine with hand pump! The museum is now fabulously modernised telling the story of Luton, the hat trade and wartime experiences .It is now very interactive for children and my son and nephews and nieces have all taken great pleasure from it as I did 50 plus years ago.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin Uk
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely classic museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great exhibits and great exhibitions, knowledgeable co-operative staff - well worth a visit. If we don't make use of our museums, we can't be surprised when they close and future generations will be the losers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wardown Park Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wardown Park Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wardown Park Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.