We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT what it appears” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel London Luton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel London Luton to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel London Luton
1 Mill Street, Luton LU1 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Luton
Empuriabrava
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NOT what it appears”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I booked this hotel because of the pictures of beds that looked modern, comfy and soft with fluffy pillows, right ? WRONG !! I was staggered to find old mattresses with springs poking through and thin flattened pillows. Those pictures must have been 10 years old. If you're looking for a good night's sleep before an early morning flight, pay a few pounds more and go to a reliable chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHGManagement, General Manager at Comfort Hotel London Luton, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your recent review to tripadvisor following your stay.

We truly value the opinions of our customers and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please note that all our 22 Standard rooms and 22 Executive rooms had a major refurbishment last year. We have replaced all bedroom and corridor carpets throughout along with the furniture and decor.

As our mission has always been to provide our guests with the best hospitality and service, should you decide to stay with the Comfort Hotel Luton in the future I would be more than happy to offer you a free upgrade to one of our Executive Rooms.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    24
    25
    38
See reviews for
15
29
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I would like to express my extreme dissatisfaction with my stay at the Comfort Hotel in Luton.

I made a reservation for 2 double rooms for myself and a colleague in order to get a good nights sleep before a very important interview in Luton.

Unfortunately it was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

The key and the hotel's master key would not work in the lock for one of the rooms so we could not gain access. No alternate room was offered and we were kept waiting for an hour and a half before the door was finally opened. By this time it was 2245h and this had prevented us both from getting appropriate rest as my colleague had to wait in my room until the problem was fixed. After all the waiting my colleague was then told that the guest key would not work in the door lock and he could not have a master key so he had to enter his room and stay there until checkout.

This is completely unacceptable and it felt like we had checked into a PRISON.

After finally getting into our rooms it was then impossible to get any rest. We both agreed it was possibly the worst nights sleep we had ever had. It was boiling hot and very stuffy, when the window was opened the noise of huge main road and train track made it impossible to sleep. The bed in one of the rooms had also collapsed on one side making it very uncomfortable.

I am extremely upset about our experience; particularly because it affected such an important interview. I asked for compensation at the time but all I was offered was a free drink at the bar which before an interview was not good at all!

I have since written to the hotel management and sent numerous emails and had no reply.

I can confirm that our company will not be using any of your properties in the future.

Room Tip: Don't book here in the first place....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed one night, 7th March 2014. Not happy with the room at the Comfort Hotel in Luton, in fact it was grotty, the curtains were torn and solid with dirt, mildew in the bathroom,( spots on the ceiling, and blackened grouting.) The kettle was faulty, and was due to be checked in November 2012!!! This we did pass on to the staff in reception (they were lovely by the way.) Thick black dust under the radiator. bashed and chipped on top The runner at the end of the bed was dirty, BUT.......the sheets were clean, so was the mattress, thank goodness, although it was spoilt by the piece of board nailed to the top of the base. The outside was shabby and dated, didn't look very 'inviting' All in all, not a place I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Reception people nice and helpful, chose this hotel for private parking, close to Luton airport for an overnight. Rooms horribly old and shabby. Bathroom clean, cannot tell the rest of the room since the carpet and cupboards are soooo old and scrathed its hard to tell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHGManagement, Manager at Comfort Hotel London Luton, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your recent review to tripadvisor following your stay.

We truly value the opinions of our customers and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Please note that all our 22 Standard rooms and 22 Executive rooms had a major refurbishment last year. We have replaced all bedroom and corridor carpets throughout along with the furniture and decor.
As our mission has always been to provide our guests with the best hospitality and service, should you decide to stay with the Comfort Hotel Luton in the future I would be more than happy to offer you a free upgrade to one of our Executive Rooms.

I am happy to hear that you found the staff helpful and I am confident that your next visit to the Comfort Hotel Luton will better reflect our commitment to customer satisfaction.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am staying here one night. It's probably the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Rooms functional and very basic. Amazingly enough it was fully booked so I could not get a single room. I have a trie room which is fine if it were not for the fact that it faces the main road and feels like a part if the train station. If I'd know how incredibly noisy it was I would have looked for another hotel. The town centre is short on hotels. It's £50 for the night excluding breakfast which is a bit rich given the state of the place. Don't get me wrong it's clean but very very basic. Staff are pleasant enough. I will not be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHGManagement, Manager at Comfort Hotel London Luton, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel.
At the Comfort Hotel Luton we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and I do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this.

I understand that you were unhappy due to the noise from the trains though on our website we do state our location "Only a few minutes' walk to Luton Railway Station" but please note that the trains do not run all night and by 11pm the train service is very limited.
I am happy to hear that you found your room clean and the staff pleasant. I understand that you were staying in a standard room and should you decide to stay with the Comfort Hotel Luton in the future I will be more than happy to offer you a free upgrade to one of our Executive Double Rooms.

Once again I do apologise for your disappointment but I am confident that your next visit to the Comfort Hotel Luton will better reflect our commitment to customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Comfort Hotel Luton in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjpt140v
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Overnight stop on the way to Dover and thank the Lord that is all it was.
From the car park entrance through the corridor was pleasant enough. Reception was ok and Anita the receptionist was very good and made us very welcome but that is where it all ends. our room had filthy carpets, the dado rail had never been cleaned there a dust, fluff and grime imbedded into it. The windows inside were filthy, squashed flies on the inside, the bathroom a disgusting, the shower tray was dirty, the wash bowl was cracked and dirty. the skirting boards were filthy with dust and fluff. Rice paper thin duvet, cold room. Décor not touched for years.
Railway station noisy, almost touch the bridge from my room, road junction very nosy a were passers by. Insulation of noise not helped by cheap double-glazing, very thin.
Forget the cost of the room £20 would be too much. The place is a joke.

Room Tip: Try some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHGManagement, Manager at Comfort Hotel London Luton, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel.
We truly value the opinions of our customers and I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Please be assured your comments have been noted and we have addressed the cleanliness issue with all staff concerned. Providing our guests with the best hospitality and service has always been our mission and I am confident that your next visit to the Comfort Hotel Luton will better reflect our commitment to customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Comfort Hotel Luton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you want a quiet nights sleep forget about it when u stay here. You might as well be on the platform of Luton station it's that noisy all night if your a anorak you'll be fine. You get what you pay for a cheap nights lack of sleep. The only good thing if u want to go into town for a meal or entertainment it's only a 5 minute walk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel London Luton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel London Luton

Address: 1 Mill Street, Luton LU1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel London Luton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel London Luton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.