We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icon Hotel Luton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Icon Hotel Luton to your Saves list
Icon Hotel Luton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Stuart Street, Luton LU1 2SA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Luton
Stirlingshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Icon Hotel is a fantastic hotel perfectly placed for convenience but more importantly the staff are on hand and proactive in making your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Nothing was an effort from the manager Rob and all of his staff and the head chef Alfonso prepared and delivered the most perfect food taking great care to ensure that it was exacting and to your individual taste.
I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    105
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
44
90
31
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Icon's theme night "Italian" was great value for money at only £20 per head. Four course italian meal and live singer, great atmosphere,lovely surroundings, good staff. good night had by all. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights for work and thought it excellent.

The building isn't pretty, the decor won't be for everyone, the view is of the main road or the car park but it works.

The room was small but comfy, the hot water in the shower was abundant. There were several rooms with wheelchair accessible bathrooms, but they didn't feel institutional. The wifi was brisk with good signal and very little fiddling about to log on.

The food in the restaurant was perfectly good if you favoured it and the staff knowledgeable about Luton's many curry places if you didn't. But the thing that really made it stand out was the service and the welcome. The manager was a consummate host - friendly, engaging, perhaps a little more voluble and familiar than you might expect but so cheerful, that it would seem odd to mind. Nothing ever seemed too much trouble and little common sense details were sorted without asking - a pot of tea came with a pot of extra hot water just in case, a pint glass I had left by the bed was cleaned and replaced rather than simply removed. Little things but signs of thoughtful staff.

Recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Truly an impressive find. Luton is not a City you would immagine to find a hotel like this in.
From the moment you enter, you realise immediately that this hotel is very different. It advertises itself as boutique and to be honest, I thought it was a word hotels use to attract attention to themselves but the Icon really is boutique.

The design, comfort and ambience is wonderfuly stylish. Its just so different but in a great way.

The prices charged are very good value for money. In fact, I felt I was being undercharged - its too cheap and I find this strange. I could not understand why its so inexpensive and asked. It turns out that the owners decided to provide 4 star accomodation at 3 star prices becuase of the recession and that there are so many other hotels in Luton. This is true and when I was looking I could not decide who to stay with and decided to try something else other than the ususal budgets.

The Icon is a budget hotel in price but could be a 5 star. The service is simply outstanding. The rooms are a little small but for 1 night, who cares ?

All in all, a super hotel. I highly reccommmend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A great hotel, fantastic staff with brilliantly comfortable beds.
A real find if you are in the Luton area and need somewhere to stay then you should look no further.
A great nights sleep in a central location with a great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

One night stay for business. Room was small, but well appointed with flat screen tv, iron and ironing board, safe large enough for laptop, proper hair dryer, walk in shower and most importantly a comfy bed.

No noise meant a good night's sleep too.

Staff are super friendly and professional. Our work group ate dinner in the hotel and the waiter was excellent. We all had the fish and chips and it was fine. Not gourmet food but totally Ok and not over priced.

Breakfast was also fine. Eggs cooked to order and bacon, sausage etc from a buffet. I hate overlooked bacon and theirs was just right. Fresh fruit was regularly replenished and there was nice good quality fruit juice.

For the price I think this place is very good indeed.

One gripe. The music in the bar area (from an automated piano) was too loud and several guests seemed to want it lower. I suppose we should have asked them to turn it down and I am sure they would have done, as the staff are all very pleasant.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went for a reception after a funeral. I can't really comment on the value for money aspects as I did not pay, but I was very upset by how insensitive and rude the staff were towards us. Clearly we had over-stayed our welcome when the staff started moving tables from where we were sitting. A polite request to move, an apology, or an explanation would have sufficed, but no, they just wiped them down and took them from under us! Reading this, you might think it was last orders, but it was actually about 5pm. In fact, throughout the afternoon there was barely a grunt from those pouring coffee (and not even helping/directing you to milk and sugar).

Obviously this was not the most upsetting part of the day by a long shot, but clearly this is not a place that values service and good manners if they can't manage to be polite to a group of mourners!

I really hope the hotel take my points on board, as I would hate to think other people might have to experience such insensitivity at such a sad time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icon Hotel Luton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icon Hotel Luton

Address: 15 Stuart Street, Luton LU1 2SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Icon Hotel Luton 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually selected by the AA to feature in the guide 'Britain's Best Hotels 2012 - Perfect Places to Stay' and winner of a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence in 2012, 2013 and 2014.Luxurious comfort awaits you at our boutique hotel in central Luton dedicated to providing you with impeccable service and accommodation. Our rooms are uniquely styled to provide you with a mix of luxury and practicality to ensure you a great night's sleep where all your needs will be catered for. At the Icon Hotel Luton, near London Luton Airport, you not only stay at our stylish urban retreat but all of your individual requirements are met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Icon Hotel Luton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icon Hotel Luton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.